Best 0w20 motor oil Reviews In 2020

Looking for best 0w20 motor oil? For this post, I have put together a collection of the best 0w20 motor oil which are currently available.

0w20 motor oil

Are you still confused for how to select top 0w20 motor oil? Then don’t buy before you read this review and guide. Compare and choose the best from our selection.

Take your time in reading through this best 0w20 motor oil review and trust that you would find the best that you would need.

Discover the excellence of 0w20 motor oil when you refresh your collection of 0w20 motor oil today. Here are the best 0w20 motor oil you can buy.

First, let’s take a look at the top-rated 0w20 motor oil, then we’ll read our full research review below to select the best product.

Image Product Name Rating Price
USER FRIENDLY

Mobil 1 High Mileage Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart

Mobil 1 High Mileage Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart

Features: Mobil 1 High Mileage full synthetic motor , Meets ILSAC GF-6 standards to help provide , Provides excellent internal engine heat protection (up

4.9
Check Price
EDITOR’S CHOICE

Pennzoil 550046127 Platinum Full Synthetic Motor Oil (SAE, SN) 0W-20, 5

Pennzoil 550046127 Platinum Full Synthetic Motor Oil (SAE, SN) 0W-20, 5

Features: Full synthetic 0W-20 engine oil made from , Pennzoil 0W-20 is a carbon neutral motor , Provides better fuel economy—drive on average an

4.9
Check Price
BUDGET PICK

AmazonBasics Full Synthetic Motor Oil - 0W-20 - 5 Quart

AmazonBasics Full Synthetic Motor Oil – 0W-20 – 5 Quart

Features: For best performance, follow the manufacturer’s recommendations , Formulated for longer drain intervals , Helps prevent build up that can cause

4.8
Check Price
MY CHOICE

Valvoline Advanced Full Synthetic SAE 0W-20 Motor Oil 5 QT

Valvoline Advanced Full Synthetic SAE 0W-20 Motor Oil 5 QT

Features: Innovative anti-wear additives provide 50% more wear , Full synthetic formula for exceptional high and , Extra detergents help fight sludge and deposits

4.8
Check Price
TOP PICK

Castrol 03060 GTX MAGNATEC 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, Green, 5

Castrol 03060 GTX MAGNATEC 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, Green, 5

Features: -Dramatically reduce engine wear , -Leave critical engine parts 4X smoother* * , -Superior wear protection on critical engine parts

4.8
Check Price
HONEST PRODUCT

Castrol 03124 Edge 0W-20 Advanced Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 Quart

Castrol 03124 Edge 0W-20 Advanced Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 Quart

Features: 42 percent better rating on fighting power , Superior engine protection vs conventional and synthetic , Superior performance against deposits, wear and oxidation;

4.8
Check Price
No #1 PRODUCT

Mobil 1 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart

Mobil 1 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart

Features: For best performance, follow the manufacturer’s recommendations , Helps prevent deposits and sludge build-up to , Excellent overall lubrication and wear protection performance

4.8
Check Price
FOR THE MONEY

TOYOTA Case of 12 Quarts Full Synthetic 0W-20 Oil

TOYOTA Case of 12 Quarts Full Synthetic 0W-20 Oil

Features: ,

4.7
Check Price
FOR YOU

Valvoline Modern Engine SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil 1 QT

Valvoline Modern Engine SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil 1 QT

Features: Innovative formula fights carbon build-up in GDI , Premium full synthetic formula for exceptional high , Exceeds industry standards for protection against wear,

4.7
Check Price
Cheap Product

Mobil 1 0W-20 Advanced Fuel Economy Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5

Mobil 1 0W-20 Advanced Fuel Economy Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5

Features: Low viscosity, fully synthetic formula , Helps to increase engine efficiency and improve , Outstanding thermal and oxidation stability

4.7
Check Price

Best 0w20 motor oil Reviews and Buying Guide

There is a way to selecting the best 0w20 motor oil budget and we trust this guide to place you on the right path in helping you find that which would be perfect for you.

1. Mobil 1 High Mileage Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart

Configuration:0W-20 Mobil 1 High Mileage full synthetic motor oil 0W-20 is designed to help extend engine life for high mileage engines of all ages with over 75,000 miles and contains a proprietary blend that protects 10,000 miles between oil changes*. Mobil 1 High Mileage contains a seal conditioner to help reduce oil leaks in higher mileage vehicles, and its uniform synthetic oil molecules reduce friction, helping to prevent deposits and sludge buildup.

This technologically advanced formulation provides excellent internal engine heat protection (up to 500 degrees Fahrenheit) and low-temperature protection (to -40 degrees Fahrenheit), supporting quick cold-weather starting and ultra-fast protection. Mobil 1 High Mileage meets ILSAC GF-6 standards to help provide low-speed pre-ignition (LSPI) and timing chain wear protection while keeping your engine clean and helping to improve your fuel economy. Available in 1-qt. and 5-qt. bottles, Mobil 1 High Mileage full synthetic motor oil 0W-20 also helps control oxidation to prevent oil breakdown and is recommended by ExxonMobil for all types of modern vehicles, including high-performance turbo-charged, and supercharged gasoline

and diesel multi-valve fuel-injected engines found in passenger cars, SUVs, light vans, and light trucks. Mobil 1 is America’s leading synthetic motor oil brand at retail**, recommended by car builders and experienced mechanics, and is the Official Motor Oil of NASCAR®. (*Protects for up to 10,000 miles or 1 year, whichever comes first. To learn more about the Mobil 1 Limited Warranty, visit Mobil.US. **Source: The NPD Group/ Retail Tracking Service/ Dollar Sales/ PCMO Full Synthetic/ 52 weeks ending August 29, 2020)

Mobil 1 High Mileage Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart

  • Mobil 1 High Mileage full synthetic motor oil 0W-20 is designed for engines with over 75,000 miles to go up to 10,000 miles between oil changes*
  • Meets ILSAC GF-6 standards to help provide low-speed pre-ignition (LSPI), timing chain wear protection while keeping your engine clean and helping your fuel economy
  • Provides excellent internal engine heat protection (up to 500 degrees F) and low temperatures (to -40 degrees F)
  • Helps extend engine life by working to prevent damaging deposits and sludge buildup
  • Helps to protect your engine from the five factors that can damage engines over time
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. I have 80k miles on my nissan murano 2010 and i don’t have oil leaking problem. should i still use this oil? or ‘mobil1 extended performance’ version

It’s really up to you. I’m not completely sure if it’s a seal conditioner additive that differentiates the extended performance from the regular mobil 1 but things tend to wear with age. Iput it in my 2008 V8 Pathfinder which didn’t have an oil leak issue and it works well. I converted over when it had about 90K on it. I also have a 19 year old car that was leaking oil and was significantly reduced when I used the Extended Mobil 1.

2. can you use marvel mystery with this oil

Yes I always use 1 qt of marvel mystery oil with 5 qts of Mobil 1 high mileage full synthetic in my Avalanche. Marvel mystery oil is amazing stuff that keeps your engine clean and prevents/stops any noise from lifters etc.

3. Any thoughts about using this in an older ’01 engine? Used to use conventional; lately been using syn-blend.

Synthetic blend oil is 4 percent synthetic the rest conventional.That is all the requirement to label as a synblend.This is ideal for older engines and new ones.It contains 1000ppm of ZDDP.Almost all other oils on the market are at 600ppm which is way too low. Its as high as you can get without spending big bucks for specialty oils.Dump it in with a mobil 1 oil filter and change every 10k miles.Synthetic oil is conventional oil from the ground that has been re refined and enhanced, change back and forth without any issues.I run mobil 1 hm in 14 vehicles I am responsible for.They still suffer internal failures from the automakers sourcing their parts from the cheapest bidder and not hardening testing parts, and terrible timing chain manufacturers but at least the engine looks new inside.

4. Does this have any zddp for flat tappet cam engines?

Yes, all motor oils do.It just doesn’t have enough.This has between 600 and 800 ppm ZDDP.It has less every year.High lift flat tappet cam needs 1200ppm minimum.You can’t just add ZDDP to modern oil.It causes massive sludge build up.I found this out first hand.Started getting low oil pressure in a high lift cam in a BBC.Engine was full of sludge.Had less than 20k miles and frequent oil changes.Oil pump pickup was clogged, along with the rest of the engine.
Unfortunately, you should buy oil that has the proper concentration of ZDDP in the original blend.Its expensive, and conventional, not synthetic.No more flat tappet cams for me.Have to spend the $$ for roller conversions.

What Real Customers Say About This Product?

BenTop Contributor: Pets says: “This is the only oil I use in my 2004 dodge ram 1500. It wants 5w-30 in the manual so that is what I buy. I live in North Dakota, so it is used in my pickup during very harsh winters. I change it at 5000 miles now that I drive a lot and it doesn’t look terrible when I drain it. I used to do 3000 when I would only put on 3k a year. In my opinion every 5k or at least once a year is sufficient. Don’t waste your money on the yearly protection crap. I’ve run this
since 100k and I have 140k now. The “hemi tick” isnt as noticeable with this oil as compared to others I have heard. I just changed it after towing around my boat all summer and then taking the girlfriend on a 2200 mile trip to glacier NP and it looked pretty good, not black, but a used oil brown. I only use Mobil 1 oil in my motorcycle as well, but a v-twin formulation. I also only use wix filters on both. I can only attest to the wix because I have cut open several of mine and I like the construction, much heavier and with metal end caps. Ac delco are similar, fram has cardboard end caps. Mobil 1 and a wix filter it is for me. This is about the same price as the local walmart but saves me having to walk into walmart…

It’s been a cold winter this year. No block heater and parked in the driveway at -25F and it still hasn’t blown up yet in the morning!

I took a photo on my desk today to show how much of this I use. I just used it on my sisters 2005 Buick Lacrosse 3.8L, 7 quarts for my pickup, and some more for my snowblower. It is really great oil..


Show More…

3. Pennzoil 550046127 Platinum Full Synthetic Motor Oil (SAE, SN) 0W-20, 5

Size:5 quart Pennzoil Platinum full synthetic SAE 0W-20 motor oil is made from natural gas, not crude oil. It is uniquely engineered from our PurePlus gas-to-liquid technology, which is a patented process that converts pure natural gas into a high quality, full synthetic base oil. Our high-quality base oil contains fewer impurities than base oils made from crude oil, and when combined with our advanced additive technology creates one of the best formulations in our Pennzoil portfolio.

Pennzoil Platinum full synthetic SAE 0W-20 motor oil is licensed and meets the vehicle warranty requirements of GM dexos 1 Gen 2 specifications that are set forth to meet today’s modern engine technologies. This means that our Pennzoil Platinum full synthetic products meet the stringent requirements of leading car manufacturers. These requirements include protection against abnormal combustion phenomenon like low-speed pre-ignition observed in modern turbocharged gasoline direct injection (TGDI) engines.

Our Pennzoil Full Synthetic products are engineered for modern engines and offer the following benefits without compromise. Better Fuel Economy: With Pennzoil Platinum full synthetic motor oil, you can drive on average an extra 550 miles vs a dirty engine (Fuel economy measurements made using CAFE cycle under FTP75. Avg of 550 extra miles based on mixed city/highway miles vs dirty engine. Source fhwa.dot.gov, 2017. Follow OEM recommended oil drain intervals).

Protects Horsepower: Pennzoil Platinum Full Synthetic motor oil helps protect against loss of power by helping to protect your engine against wear and deposit formation. Unsurpassed Wear Protection: When it comes to protecting the internal parts of your engine from metal-on-metal contact, no other leading synthetic motor oil provides better wear protection from friction than Pennzoil Platinum Full Synthetic motor oil (based on Sequence IVA wear test using SAE 5W-30).

Excellent Temperature Performance: Provides faster low-temperature oil flow and protects in extreme heat. Cleaner Pistons: Offers outstanding piston cleanliness by capturing dirt and contaminants and keeping pistons up to 45% cleaner than required by the toughest industry standards (based on Sequence IIIH results). Carbon Neutral: This product is carbon neutral. The CO2e emissions of the lifecycle of this product have been offset with verified Nature Based Carbon Credits. For full details visit the Pennzoil website.

“Carbon Neutral” indicates that the CO2e lifecycle emissions of this product have been offset with verified nature-based carbon credits. This means that Shell has engaged in a transaction where an amount of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e) that is associated with the raw material extraction, transport, production, distribution, use, and end-of-life of the lubricant has been removed from the atmosphere through a nature-based process, or emissions were saved through the avoided degradation of natural ecosystems.

“CO2e (CO2 equivalent) emissions” means CO2, CH4, N2O greenhouse gas emissions. It meets or exceeds the following OEM requirements: FCA MS-6395; Ford WSS-M2C947-B1; GM dexos1TM Gen 2. It also exceeds the requirements of the following industry specifications: API SP and all previous categories; ILSAC GF-6; ACEA A1/B1. For a full list of equipment approvals and recommendations, please consult your local Shell Technical Help Desk

and always consult your owner’s manual.

.”


Show More…
Pennzoil 550046127 Platinum Full Synthetic Motor Oil (SAE, SN) 0W-20, 5 Quart – Pack of 1

  • Full synthetic 0W-20 engine oil made from made from natural gas, not crude, using Pennzoil’s patented gas-to-liquid PurePlus Technology
  • Pennzoil 0W-20 is a carbon neutral motor oil, achieved through verified Nature Based Carbon Credits that offset the CO2 lifecycle emissions
  • Provides better fuel economy—drive on average an extra 550 miles per year (versus a dirty engine)
  • Pennzoil Platinum 0W-20 keeps pistons up to 45% cleaner than the toughest industry standard (based on Sequence IIIH results)
  • No other leading synthetic oil provides better wear protection from friction (Based on Sequence IVA wear test using SAE 5W-30)
  • Formulated to provide faster low-temperature oil flow and protection in extreme heat
  • Single 5-quart bottle with ergonomic design for easy handling and pouring
  • Show more
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. On the bottom of the container states time and dates; is this expiration date or date of produced? thanks

Most likely this is the production date of the oil. As is have read online, most oil has a shelf life of 3 to 5 years and there are some manufacturers that state oil never expires. You may be able to check with Pennzoil, but I believe the shelf life is 5 years after which the additives start to drop out.

2. What is the difference between carbon neutral and not neutral?

You can look further down on the description to see why they are saying carbon neutral. It means, as a company, they are offsetting the carbon emissions from this product with some green processes.
It’s similar to a land developer that has to designate land for parks for every so many houses. They are still cutting down trees, they just get credit for leaving trees in the park!!!

3. Is this oil good for a 2018 honda accord 1.5 turbo

Good oil if your engine calls for this weight.

4. Anyone tried this oil in Mazda 3 2012 Sky-lake. Can you please tell about this oil performance?

I have a 2018 Mazda 3 that I use it in and my car has been great. So go for it.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Zeus says: “I’ve been trying to see what kind of life I can coax out of my oil. I’ve progressively increased the OCI and preformed oil testing at each service. My last OCI was 10,100 miles and the test results showed that there were probably 2,000 more miles left on the oil (every category of the oil sample was in spec)…..Combined with a PureOne oil filter Pennzoil Platinum has been an excellent product…….and cheap too…..$25 for the oil (not including the $10 rebate) and $7 for the filter. This type of oil change would cost you $75 easy at a quick lube joint.
I’ve been trying to see what kind of life I can coax out of my oil. I’ve progressively increased the OCI and preformed oil testing at each service. My last OCI was 10,100 miles and the test results showed that there were probably 2,000 more miles left on the oil (every category of the oil sample was in spec)…..Combined with a PureOne oil filter Pennzoil Platinum has been an excellent product…….and cheap too…..$25 for the oil (not including the $10 rebate) and $7 for the filter. This type of oil change would cost you $75 easy at a quick lube joint.

Save yourself some money and quit changing your oil at three or five thousand miles…….It’s a real waste with the excellent oils these days..


Show More…

5. AmazonBasics Full Synthetic Motor Oil – 0W-20 – 5 Quart

Style:Full Synthetic | Size:5 Quart | Configuration:0W-20 An Amazon Brand

AmazonBasics Full Synthetic Motor Oil – 0W-20 – 5 Quart

  • For best performance, follow the manufacturer’s recommendations in your vehicle owner’s manual.
  • Formulated for longer drain intervals
  • Helps prevent build up that can cause rust and corrosion
  • Reduces friction for less engine wear
  • High resistance to viscosity and thermal breakdown
  • Helps reduce exhaust emissions
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Do you just add it to the gas or pour in the glovebox?

Before adding oil to your gas tank make sure to check the blinker fuild level. If it’s at the full mark you can safely add all 5 quarts of oil into your gas tank. With full synthetic you’ll get better gas mileage!
If you want to really crank up your engines preformance, the next time your at the gas station, pop the hood, unscrew the engine oil cap, and fill your engine up with 93 OCT until it overflows. Put the cap back on and your good to go! I’ve gained around 100HP in my 1996 Ford Taurus.

2. Amazon doesn’t make anything. So who really makes this oil?

Warren makes Kirkland oil as well. When I went today, Costco was selling a box containing 2 of the 5 gallon jugs of full synthetic for $24.99, which is about half of what Bezos is charging for the exact same product. The Costco jugs say, “Manufactured by Warren Distribution, Inc.” and says “DEXOS approved Gen-2” as well.

3. Does anyone have a virgin oil analysis to post? thank you!

I hear that if you take the oil to confession, it can be re-virginated. That’s what my wife told me right before we got married.

4. Does this oil meet VW’s 502.00 / 505.00 spec.?

It’s likely not going to be on the VW certified list. But, 502/505.00 does mirror ACEA A3/B4 a lot. In the older manuals, pre-longitudinal 1.8T oil sludge, the manual did give you options, saying it needed to meet 502.00/505.00, ACEA A3/B4, or API CF-4 (older TDI’s).
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Joel Schopp says: “It’s hard to review oil without access to the lab test results. I mean you put it in the engine of your car and your car still works, great. Not much to review. You’d have to set up two identical cars with different oils and run them for 100,000 miles to do a proper test at home without specialty test equipment. So for my review I’m going to focus on what those certifications on the bottle actually mean, because not all oils have the same certifications. Demystifying oil certifications A long time ago people had low standards for oil. Engines were
It’s hard to review oil without access to the lab test results. I mean you put it in the engine of your car and your car still works, great. Not much to review. You’d have to set up two identical cars with different oils and run them for 100,000 miles to do a proper test at home without specialty test equipment. So for my review I’m going to focus on what those certifications on the bottle actually mean, because not all oils have the same certifications.

Demystifying oil certifications

A long time ago people had low standards for oil. Engines were simple, a coke was ten cents. Now oil is expected to help you get great mileage, work with crazy direct injection turbo engines, run E85 ethanol, not damage your emissions system, and keep your engine from wearing out. To do all this your oil is less about the oil itself and more about the additives package it is mixed with. Slipperyness enhancers, wear reducers, seal conditioners, and a whole lot more.

Dexos 1 Gen 2
General Motors went out and made their own proprietary standard, and then they charge oil makers $0.36 / gallon to put the label on. Some oil makers have balked at the price and aren’t paying. Amazon I guess decided that you care about it and paid up. What is interesting is that GM chairs the committee that did GF-5 (see below) and made their own standard so it would be more strict. So if oil has Dexos 1 Gen 2 it meets stricter standards than GF-5, but other oil might meet those standards too and just choose not to pay GM to say they do.

GF-5 (better than GF-4, GF-3, GF-2, GF-1)
October 2010. Improved high temperature deposit protection for pistons and turbochargers, better sludge control, improved fuel economy, enhanced emission control system compatibility, seal compatibility, rust protection, and protection of engines operating on ethanol-containing fuels up to E85. Pretty much anybody that meets GF-5 will say they do, the license is cheap.

For GF-5:

API service category SN (better than SA, SB, …, SM)
Has to meet cam wear, engine sludge, viscosity increases at temperature, bearing wear, aged oil low temp, rust, evaporative loss, sheer viscosity, flow reduction, phosphorus min, phosphorus max, sulpher max, foaming tendancy, high temperature foaming tendancy, high temperature deposits max,

API service category SN Plus (New in Nov 2017)
This is the same as SN but adds protection against low speed pre-ignition for direct injection gasoline engines. Again, oil that meets this will likely be labeled with it.

SN Resource Conserving
Tested to stand up E85 use (ethanol blend fuels)
Tested to keep a minimum Phosphorus retention and to keep its viscosity better as it ages, which means you can theoretically go longer between oil changes.
Again, oil that meets this will likely be labeled with it..


Show More…

7. Valvoline Advanced Full Synthetic SAE 0W-20 Motor Oil 5 QT

Style:Advanced Full Synthetic | Size:5 QT | Configuration:0W-20 Valvoline SynPower Full Synthetic Motor Oil delivers superior engine protection by fighting the three major causes of engine stress: heat, deposits and wear. That’s because SynPower is the only leading full synthetic formulated with more durable anti-wear additives that stay in the oil longer. When you want to keep your engine running its best, choose the ultimate protection found in Valvoline SynPower Full Synthetic.

Valvoline Advanced Full Synthetic SAE 0W-20 Motor Oil 5 QT

  • Innovative anti-wear additives provide 50% more wear protection than industry standards as tested in the industry Sequence IVA wear test
  • Full synthetic formula for exceptional high and low temperature protection
  • Extra detergents help fight sludge and deposits
  • Superior antioxidants resist motor oil breakdown in extreme conditions
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Is it completely made in usa?

made in Ashland, Kentucky since 1920

2. Can i use this for my prius 2007 base model? how many miles would it give me until the next change? also what quantity would i need to buy?

Unfortunately, this product is not recommend for your Prius. We recommend using the Valvoline 5W-30 SynPower Full Synthetic Motor Oil – 1qt (Case of 6) (VV955-6PK), and the engine capacity is 3.9 quarts. For the drain interval, Valvoline always recommends following the manufacturer specified drain interval regardless of grade. It is recommended by Toyota to change the oil every 6 months or 5,000 miles for this vehicle.

3. Is this oil VW 505.01?

It is not on VAG listing as approved and Valvoline does not list the specification as other manufacturers such as Castro, however it is what I use in my 2.0T VW Passat. Valvoline 300,000 mile Guarantee should apply if your engine is not high mileage. I went with Valvoline since they offer the guarantee on any lubricated part failure.

4. I don’t see the brand of max life for new engines. can i put this in a 2016 kia optima lx 1.6 turbo that is new with 1500 miles? if not,what 5w-30?

Valvoline Advanced Synthetic SAE 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil – 1 Quart Bottle (Case of 6); VV955-6PK
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Amazon Customer says: “Made my french fries taste funny but I’m no expert
Made my french fries taste funny but I’m no expert.

Show More…

9. Castrol 03060 GTX MAGNATEC 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, Green, 5

Size:5 Quart | Style:Full Synthetic | Configuration:0W-20 ONLY Castrol GTX MAGNATEC IS UNIQUELY FORMULATED TO PROVIDE INSTANT PROTECTION FROM THE MOMENT YOU START. Did you know testing confirms that up to 75% of engine wear occurs during the first 20 minutes of warm up?* When your engine stops, oil drains off critical engine parts, but the intelligent molecules in Castrol GTX MAGNATEC don’t – they form an extra layer of protection during warm up, when your engine needs it most, dramatically reducing engine wear and keeping critical parts up to 4X smoother.* * As tested in the industry Sequence IVA

wear test.

Castrol 03060 GTX MAGNATEC 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, Green, 5 Quart

  • -Dramatically reduce engine wear
  • -Leave critical engine parts 4X smoother* * As tested in the industry Sequence IVA wear test
  • -Superior wear protection on critical engine parts
  • -Unsurpassed level of protection against viscosity breakdown
  • -Unique full synthetic technology to fight against harmful sludge build-up
  • -High level of fuel economy based on US industry standards
  • -API SN; ILSAC GF-5; GM dexos1
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Is this a synthetic, conventional or blend, base oil product?

Not truly. It is a group 3 “synthetic” that uses conventional oil and refines it (via processes like hydrocracking) and in the US can be called synthetic but like most synthetics which are group 3 could not be called synthetic in many other countries like Germany for example.
Those oils need to be group 4 which use P.A.O. basestocks or group 5 which use Ester basestocks. By the way since this oil is mainly concerning itself with oil sticking to metal Ester basestocks are naturally excellent at adhering to metal surfaces.

There are differences between group 4 and 5 oils.A major one is that Esters are hygroscopic (absorb water) while P.A.O. are hydrophobic (do not absorb water) in practical terms it could relate to seal swell.
True synthetics have very consistent molecule structure an as such do not need V.I. additives to try to stabilize viscosity over time. True synthetics maintain that on their own.

As should be obvious by now there is no simple answer to what is “best”.
I use group 3 synthetics in my street muscle cars. Companies have rebates multiple times a year for months.I take advantage of those.If the oil is not as cheap on Amazon the big W store has low prices.Right now one can buy Pennzoil Platinum Ultra (their best) for $20/5quart jug. The rebate is $10. A good price.
Mobil 1 E.P. is $25 and a E.P. filter $9.
The rebate for just the oil is $12. The rebate for oil and filter is $17. Another good deal.

For my supersport motorcycles I use motorcycle specific Group 5 oils usually such as Motul 7100 (made in France).

I urge everyone to learn about oils and be comfortable in their selections.
Follow your vehicles manufacturers recommendations.

If you read the fine print on any oil they pretty much make their claims then add to follow your manufacturers recommendations in oil specs and change intervals.

We had a motor oil discussion here that went on over 4 years.The Bobstheoilguy site is still up and joining that is a great idea IMO

2. so whats the differrence or benefit of this over the other castrols?

It was the least expensive 0w/20 good quality oil I could find at the time. Good good reviews, so I got it.
Not sure if it’s any “better” than any other good oil. You might find more answers at that website that talks about engine oil..I think it’s “Bob is the oil guy” .or something like that.

3. Can I use it for a toyota corolla?

I’ve only used this in my 2010 Corolla s

4. Can this oil handle high temperature?

I don’t know what you feel high temperature means. I have used it in an engine that ran as high as 100C without loss of performance.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

genegenre says: “I am a contractor driver. I drive 120,000 miles a year in a minivan delivering automotive parts. I tested all major brands at Blackstone Labs and found no difference between the full synthetics even Amsoil. So I buy Castrol because it is the cheapest right now. As long as you get full synth, you’re golden. Stay at or under 10k intervals. Good luck.
I am a contractor driver. I drive 120,000 miles a year in a minivan delivering automotive parts. I tested all major brands at Blackstone Labs and found no difference between the full synthetics even Amsoil. So I buy Castrol because it is the cheapest right now. As long as you get full synth, you’re golden. Stay at or under 10k intervals. Good luck..

Show More…

11. Castrol 03124 Edge 0W-20 Advanced Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 Quart

Size:5 Quart | Style:Advanced Full Synthetic | Configuration:0W-20 Castrol EDGE is Castrol’s most advanced engine oil. It is a premium full synthetic oil that is designed for consumers who demand the best performance from their cars. Castrol EDGE is recommended by leading car manufacturers. Castrol EDGE is engineered with fluid titanium technology that physically changes the way the oil behaves under pressure. As a result of increased demand for performance and fuel economy, pressures in today’s engines have almost doubled over the last three decades.

Greater pressure means more stress for the oil and the potential for more friction. As metal to metal contact increases, it causes wear and reduces performance. Underneath the hood, the pressure can reach 10 tons per square centimeter. That’s like five cars resting on a high heel relying only on a micro thin layer of oil for protection. So you need a strong oil to reduce friction, and to help increase horsepower and fuel economy.

To combat the increased pressures faced in today’s engines, Castrol EDGE is engineered with fluid titanium technology that physically changes the way the oil behaves under pressure. Castrol’s patented titanium technology provides documented performance in friction reduction, anti-wear and deposit control protection. The titanium-based technology ensures performance and strength.

Castrol 03124 Edge 0W-20 Advanced Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 Quart

  • 42 percent better rating on fighting power robbing deposits
  • Superior engine protection vs conventional and synthetic blend oils
  • Superior performance against deposits, wear and oxidation; Bottle Color: Black
  • Meets the needs of Honda, Toyota, Acura, Lexus and other vehicles where 0W-20 grade is recommended
  • Exceeds ILSAC GF-5, API SN, ACEA A1, ACEA B1
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Is this a group IV oil?

YES, it is Group IV.Response direct from Castrol: “We formulate using a number of high quality synthetic base oils to ensure high level, superior performance of the products and Group IV is in the Castrol EDGE 0W-40 formulation.”Their response was from my email which directed them to the Amazon link of THIS oil.I run this in my E92 BMW M3, fyi.

2. is amazon motor oil apao

This Castrol oil has around 25% PAO in it’s mix. Check out MSDS for a full breakdown.

3. Is this truly fully Synthetic or is it a synthetic blend? If it’s fully synthetic – whats the advantage of Castrol EDGE Extended Performance 0W-20?

This is a full Synthetic, I believe the EDGE product line is always fully synthetic. The advantage of using to 0W-20 is usually improved fuel economy or gas mileage. Some newer import engines specify either 5W-20 or 0W-20, but if you can you should use 0W-20 as it generally reduces start-up friction compared to 5W-20. Some people are also using 0W-20 even if their engines call for 5W-30 for the benefit of reduced startup wear and improved fuel economy.

4. Is this wet clutch certified? Wondering if I can use this in a 2005 Arctic Cat 400

I checked a virgin oil analysis for this oil, it showed no moly to speak of in the oil.Moly is typically what causes issues in a wet clutch system.I have used Castrol 0-30 in my wet clutch motorcycle and it performs very well.The formulation for the Castrol 0-30 and 0-40 appear to be very close, outside of the viscosity.The 0-30 is considered a “heavy” 30 weight the 0-40 is considered a “light” 40 weight.I would use this oil in my wet clutch applications.

What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Frank A

VINE VOICE says: “Newer Toyota’s running synthetic oils are supposed to go 10K miles between oil changes per Toyota. I still try to change it around 4-5K miles. I have loved Castrol since the 80’s and this is the first car that I have owned that needed a 0W20 synthetic oil. This synthetic Edge oil is great… the engine is a bit quieter and the oil after 5K miles comes out of the engine like oil instead of water viscosity. EDIT Dec 24, 2018: I found that Amsoil had a third party test a bunch of oil brands against their oil for TBN levels.

Newer Toyota’s running synthetic oils are supposed to go 10K miles between oil changes per Toyota. I still try to change it around 4-5K miles. I have loved Castrol since the 80’s and this is the first car that I have owned that needed a 0W20 synthetic oil. This synthetic Edge oil is great… the engine is a bit quieter and the oil after 5K miles comes out of the engine like oil instead of water viscosity.

EDIT Dec 24, 2018: I found that Amsoil had a third party test a bunch of oil brands against their oil for TBN levels. TBN is the total base number and a higher TBN number means it has greater abilities to combat the corrosive contamination that oil receives in the engine. Castrol EDGE came in second place in that test beating my other favorite oil, Mobil 1.

Castrol EDGE beat all of the competition in TEOST scores. TEOST sands for Thermo-oxidation Engine Oil Simulation Test… this test is a durability test under operating conditions. Mobil 1 EP was next to last in this test..


Show More…

13. Mobil 1 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart

Mobil 1 Extended Performance full synthetic motor oil 0W-20 is designed to help extend engine life for vehicles of all ages and contains a proprietary blend that protects for up to 20,000 miles between oil changes*. Its uniform synthetic oil molecules reduce friction, helping to prevent deposits and sludge buildup. This technologically advanced formulation provides excellent internal engine heat protection (up to 500 degrees Fahrenheit) and low-temperature protection (to -40 degrees Fahrenheit), supporting quick cold-weather starting and ultra-fast protection.

Mobil 1 Extended Performance meets ILSAC GF-6 standards to help provide low-speed pre-ignition (LSPI) and timing chain wear protection while keeping your engine clean and helping to improve your fuel economy. Available in 1-qt. and 5-qt. bottles, Mobil 1 Extended Performance full synthetic motor oil 0W-20 also helps control oxidation to prevent oil breakdown and is recommended by ExxonMobil for all types of modern vehicles, including high-performance turbo-charged, and supercharged gasoline and diesel multi-valve fuel-injected engines found in passenger cars, SUVs, light vans, and light trucks.

Mobil 1 is America’s leading synthetic motor oil brand at retail**, recommended by car builders and experienced mechanics, and is the Official Motor Oil of NASCAR®. (*Protects for up to 20,000 miles or 1 year, whichever comes first. To learn more about the Mobil 1 Limited Warranty, visit Mobil.US. **Source: The NPD Group/ Retail Tracking Service/ Dollar Sales/ PCMO Full Synthetic/ 52 weeks ending August 29, 2020)

Mobil 1 Extended Performance Full Synthetic Motor Oil 0W-20, 5 Quart (120903)

  • For best performance, follow the manufacturer’s recommendations in your vehicle owner’s manual.
  • Helps prevent deposits and sludge build-up to enable long engine life
  • Excellent overall lubrication and wear protection performance under many operating conditions, from mild to severe
  • Helps to provide outstanding engine protection at oil change intervals of up to 15,000 miles or 1 year, whichever comes first
  • Exceptional control of oil breakdown and helps maintain stable oil viscosity
  • Helps maintain long engine life and is compatible with engine seals; helps provide less stress on the starting system
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Can i use this for my 2016 honda crv touring?

Make sure it is THIS variety which is Mobil 1 EXTENDED PERFORMANCE. Also, it will NOT void your warranty. It meets all the specs required by Honda. MAKE CERTAIN that you are using the 0W-20 viscosity for your vehicle.

2. the vehicle sensor recommends oil change when the vehicle runs around 7000 miles. should I change the oil or continue using the oil until 15,000 miles

The oil can handle the mileage but the filters cannot. No way I go over 6000 miles on 1 oil filter.

3. can this oil be used on toyota engines in a tropical country at amb temperature of 33-36 deg C

Yes, but I’d probably use the 5w-30 variant per Toyota’s recommendation. This oil is not designed for diesel engine use.

4. Is this oil rated as dexos2 or dexos1. my 2018 gmc sierra 1500 5.3l calls for 0w20 dexos2 ??? bruce o.

Don’t know about specificat listing, but would be EXTREMELY surprised if this would not meet GMC’s requirements. I have used nothing else for over 20 years. Including 5 Lexus LS sedans.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

tom4416

VINE VOICE says: “I’ve been using this oil for over two years now, first time I’ve seen it on Amazon for less than it’s at Wally World and it gets shipped to my front door! How good is the oil? Consider this, I do oil analysis on a fairly regular basis through Blackstone labs and I’ve tested this at 5K and 10K miles (it was changed out at 10K). At both test intervals, it still had remaining life, estimated at 7K at the 10K change out which would make it 17,000 mile oil. I don’t go past 10K because I’m old school and remember

3/3000 as the gold standard for oil changes.

A couple of caveats – I changed the filter (Wix) at the 5K mark, it’s inexpensive insurance to me. I do not buy into the Mobil 1 filter being required and/or superior to a good quality filter from another manufacturer. Yes, I know you’re supposed to use a Mobil 1 filter to get “full protection” but if you have an oil related failure at say, 12,000 miles, good luck collecting regardless of which filter you used as they will surely claim you were using it in the harshest of conditions and should have followed a severe duty change cycle. Could be wrong but like most guarantees, there are more reasons listed to not pay then there are to pay a claim.

I get back to trusting the extensive oil analysis that Blackstone does. They have no skin in the oil side of the game and so have every reason to be honest and upfront with your particular results. And, in the interest of full disclosure, when I used “regular” Mobil 1 synthetic in the same car (2012 Honda Accord BTW) and sent the analysis in at 7,500 miles, it came back as suggesting extending the interval by 5,000 miles so even the base synthetic is an exceptional oil. Were this not priced so competitively on Amazon right now, I would have stuck with the regular but for essentially the same price, go extended.

I will be using it in my 2003 Toyota 4Runner V6 with 120,000 miles on it next and will probably go the full 15K, with testing, in that vehicle as I have a fourteen year test history for comparison purposes, starting with regular dino oil, switching over to Mobil 1 at around 30,000 miles and now going to the extended. I only use Toyota OEM filters and will change it out halfway through the cycle with testing then and at the end..


Show More…

15. TOYOTA Case of 12 Quarts Full Synthetic 0W-20 Oil

Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. is this better than liquimoly , motul or purol or schaeffer and redline synthetic oils

Probably no better or worse.

2. Is this the same stuff they use in dealer 10,000 mile oil and is it really that different from say mobile one advanced 0-20 oil

Yes it is it is that different from mobile one advance 0-20 oil

3. This oil engine work in 2013 Toyota Corolla S

You need to check your owner manual to see what oil they call for. This oil is synthetic

4. Does this oil contain Moly?

Yes, 787 ppm according to the Petroleum Quality Institute of America website. This is the most molybdenum I’ve ever seen in an oil.
http://pqiadata.org/Toyota_0W20.html
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

JB Wallingford, CT says: “TGMO is a very good quality oil. Made by Exxon-Mobil according to Toyota specifications. Some may argue if it’s made by Exxon-Mobil then it’s similar to Mobil 1 0w20 why bother paying more for this oil if you can buy Mobil 1 at a lesser price. If you look at the specs of this oil/ TGMO, you will notice that the additive package is very different from Mobil 1. Viscosity index is also significantly higher on the TGMO, in fact it’s one of the highest for a 0w20 synthetic oil. Why buy this oil then? If you want an oil that
will perform very well when used on a Toyota with 10000mi OCI and still have a lots of life left in the oil at 10000mi, this is your oil. Toyota takes pride in the dependability of their cars that’s why they have an oil made for their cars according to their specification.

I personally use this oil on my 2016 4runner TE. 10000mi OCI is a walk in the park. Lots of life left in the oil that I may even extend my OCI another 3k more or so if I want but I don’t. Now that’s peace of mind, if you want to keep your car for a long time.

Other 0w20 oil will do fine on a Toyota and will be sufficient to last the 10000mi OCI. But, TGMO is made specifically for Toyota. It cost a little bit more but if gives me peace of mind then it’s worth it.

(Seller, shipping was fast and product delivered undamaged. Thank you. Keep this item affordable– don’t increase the price.)

Update 12/1/20: purchased this oil again for my wife’s 2020 Lexus NX300. The formulation has been updated. It’s now GF-6 API – SN plus/RC. 12qts is perfect: 5.5qts for my wife’s NX300 and 6.5qts for my 4RUNNER..


Show More…

17. Valvoline Modern Engine SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil 1 QT

Style:Modern Engine | Size:1 QT | Configuration:0W-20 Drive a 2012 or Newer? Carbon build-up could be sneaking up on you. Engines in vehicles 2012 and newer are built smaller and more efficient than ever. This also means they run hotter and are more susceptible to developing fuel and oil related carbon build-up. These deposits lead to a loss of power and fuel economy, ultimately resulting in engine breakdown. Valvoline Modern Engine full synthetic motor oil is formulated to fight carbon build-up in GDI (Gas Direct Injection), Turbo and other newer engines.

Developed with innovative motor oil technology, Valvoline Modern Engine exceeds industry standards by 40% against carbon build-up based on average of industry standard piston, turbocharger and intake valve deposit test results.

Valvoline Modern Engine SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil 1 QT

  • Innovative formula fights carbon build-up in GDI (Gas Direct Injection), Turbo and other newer engines
  • Premium full synthetic formula for exceptional high and low temperature protection
  • Exceeds industry standards for protection against wear, deposits and sludge
  • Exceptional protection against motor oil breakdown in demanding GDI, turbo and other newer engines
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Does “for engines 2012 or newer” mean can not be used for older cars?

The Modern Engine formulation is produced to work best with 2012 and newer vehicles, however, it can be used in any vehicle requiring an API SN or earlier rated engine oil regardless of age.

2. IS this good for 2014 sonata high miles?

Unfortunately, this is not the appropriate viscosity for your vehicle. This product line is suitable, but you will need to use either 5w-20 or 5w-30 to meet OEM requirements.

3. Does this oil remove carbon already built up in a GDI engine?

The additives in the Valvoline Modern Engine SAE 5W-20 Full Synthetic Motor Oil will help with removing carbon from all types of engines. For additional information on this, please give us a call at 800-832-6825 option 5.

4. Is this a gf-4 api rated oil?

The Valvoline Modern Engine SAE 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil 5 QT is ILSAC GF-5 rated, which is backwards compatible with the GF-4 rating.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Savvy Shopper says: “If you watch Valvoline’s videos about this oil you’ll find that its engineered to combat the carbon that comes from oil seeping through the valve stem seal. Apparently this seepage is commonplace and port fuel injection with good detergent gasoline just washed it away. Direct injection engines don’t wash the valves with gasoline so the oil seepage from the valve stem seal turns into carbon. I don’t know how exactly but this Modern Engine oil is supposed to resist this by changing how the oil oxidizes under heat. I haven’t seen this carbon buildup issue addressed specifically by any of the
If you watch Valvoline’s videos about this oil you’ll find that its engineered to combat the carbon that comes from oil seeping through the valve stem seal. Apparently this seepage is commonplace and port fuel injection with good detergent gasoline just washed it away. Direct injection engines don’t wash the valves with gasoline so the oil seepage from the valve stem seal turns into carbon.

I don’t know how exactly but this Modern Engine oil is supposed to resist this by changing how the oil oxidizes under heat. I haven’t seen this carbon buildup issue addressed specifically by any of the other top quality oils. Plus is U.S. made and owned so that’s a big plus.

Of note: You can ONLY find this oil on Amazon. I called Orilley’s, AutoZone, Advanced Auto Parts, and NAPA and all of them had no idea what I was even asking for. A couple even called their warehouses and still couldn’t find it..


Show More…

19. Mobil 1 0W-20 Advanced Fuel Economy Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5

Keep your engine running like new with the help of this Mobil 1 0W-20 Full-Synthetic Motor Oil. It is an advanced full-synthetic engine oil that is designed to provide exceptional wear protection, cleaning power and overall performance. This Mobil 1 advanced fuel economy motor oil bottle will support your car through oil change after oil change, helping to enhance and extend your engine’s life. Its enhanced frictional properties help deliver superb viscosity control.

These, alongside its cold weather capabilities, help it to deliver stronger fuel economy for your vehicle. Mobil 1 meets or exceeds the requirements of the industry’s toughest standards and outperforms conventional oils. Mobil 1 technology comes as standard equipment in many different vehicles, including select high-performance vehicles.

Mobil 1 0W-20 Advanced Fuel Economy Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

  • Low viscosity, fully synthetic formula
  • Helps to increase engine efficiency and improve fuel economy up to 2%
  • Outstanding thermal and oxidation stability
  • Help to reduce oil aging resulting in long-lasting protection
  • Outstanding low-temperature capabilities
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Can i use this oil on a honda pilot 2019 exl

it should. Check owners manual

2. Does this oil work for Toyota Camry se 2016?

It should. Check owners manual

3. how many months is the oil good for if not putting on alot of miles

Mobil 1’s warranty I think says you must change before 12 months or by OEM recommended mileage for oil change. Some Toyotas tell you 6 month or recommended mileage for oil change.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

CerWrapics says: “Exactly what I need. Fast shipping right to my door. Don’t have to go to the store! Like that
Exactly what I need. Fast shipping right to my door. Don’t have to go to the store! Like that.

Show More…

I hope this list of the best 0w20 motor oil was helpful. If you think I left out one that is important or have a suggestion for a future article, let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Comment