10 Best digital pocket radio reviews List And Buyer’s Guide By Expert

Looking for best digital pocket radio reviews? For this post, I have put together a collection of the best digital pocket radio reviews which are currently available.

digital pocket radio reviews

Are you still confused for how to select top digital pocket radio reviews? Then don’t buy before you read this review and guide. Compare and choose the best from our selection.

If you’re willing to pay top dollar for absolutely gorgeous digital pocket radio reviews, this post is for you.

Take your time in reading through this best digital pocket radio reviews review and trust that you would find the best that you would need.

At A Glance For Best digital pocket radio reviews for You

If you’re in a hurry, then here’s the list of the best digital pocket radio reviews:

    1. Best Rated: C. Crane CC Pocket AM FM …
    2. Top Pick: Sony ICFP26 Portable AM/FM Radio,Black …
    3. Overall Best: Kaito KA200 Pocket AM/FM Radio, Black …
    4. For The Money: C Crane CC Skywave AM, FM, …
    5. Best Budget: Sangean DT-400W AM/FM Digital Weather Alert …
    6. Goog Reviews: Sangean DT-200X FM-Stereo/AM Digital Tuning Pocket …
    7. Overall Good: Retekess PR12 Mini AM FM Radio, …
    8. Great Performance: Sangean DT-800BK AM / FM / …
    9. Cheap Price: Eton Elite Field AM/FM/Shortwave Desktop Radio …
    10. Cheap One: C. Crane CC Pocket AM FM …0

First, let’s take a look at the top-rated digital pocket radio reviews, then we’ll read our full research review below to select the best product.

Image Product Name Rating Price
USER FRIENDLY

C. Crane CC Pocket AM FM and NOAA Weather Radio with

C. Crane CC Pocket AM FM and NOAA Weather Radio with

Features: AM/FM and NOAA Weather Band Pocket Sized , Excellent selectivity and sensitivity for its size, , Built in speaker or can be used

4.5
Check Price
EDITOR’S CHOICE

Sony ICFP26 Portable AM/FM Radio,Black

Sony ICFP26 Portable AM/FM Radio,Black

Features: Built-in speaker and headphone jack , Telescoping antenna , Carrying strap for added convenience

4.4
Check Price
BUDGET PICK

Kaito KA200 Pocket AM/FM Radio, Black

Kaito KA200 Pocket AM/FM Radio, Black

Features: Frequency coverage: AM: 530 – 1600 KHz, , Built-in monophonic earphone jack (earphone not included) , Antenna System : AM: Built-in Ferrite Bar

4.3
Check Price
MY CHOICE

C Crane CC Skywave AM, FM, Shortwave, Weather and Airband Portable

C Crane CC Skywave AM, FM, Shortwave, Weather and Airband Portable

Features: Small Lightweight Portable AM/FM/Shortwave/Weather/Airband Travel Clock Radio , Lighted LCD Display, Rotary Volume Knob, Stereo , 400 Memory Presets, Direct Entry Keypad, Autoscan

4.3
Check Price
TOP PICK

Sangean DT-400W AM/FM Digital Weather Alert Pocket Radio

Sangean DT-400W AM/FM Digital Weather Alert Pocket Radio

Features: Digital AM/FM/NOAA Public Alert Weather Radio with , 19 Random Presets for AM/FM/WX with My , Real Time Clock, Sleep Timer, Auto Seek

4.3
Check Price
HONEST PRODUCT

Sangean DT-200X FM-Stereo/AM Digital Tuning Pocket Radio Black

Sangean DT-200X FM-Stereo/AM Digital Tuning Pocket Radio Black

Features: Am/ FM-Stereo pocket radio with drift-free PLL , 19 radom AM/FM memory presets with Auto , Large backlit LCD display, selectable stereo/mono switch,

4.3
Check Price
No #1 PRODUCT

Retekess PR12 Mini AM FM Radio, Portable Pocket Radio, Walkman Radio

Retekess PR12 Mini AM FM Radio, Portable Pocket Radio, Walkman Radio

Features: Portable radio; PR12 is the size of , Digital radio with MP3 player; powerful speaker , FM AM Radio with DSP technology; AM(520/522-1710KHz)

4.3
Check Price
FOR THE MONEY

Sangean DT-800BK AM / FM / NOAA Weather Alert Rechargeable Pocket

Sangean DT-800BK AM / FM / NOAA Weather Alert Rechargeable Pocket

Features: Included Components: Ac Adapter;Belt Clip;Fm Wire Antenna;Earbuds ,

4.2
Check Price
FOR YOU

Eton Elite Field AM/FM/Shortwave Desktop Radio with Bluetooth

Eton Elite Field AM/FM/Shortwave Desktop Radio with Bluetooth

Features: AM/FM SHORTWAVE RADIO: With high sensitivity, strong , FINE TUNING: This radio features an LCD , VERSATILE RECEIVER: This radio includes a line-in/line-out

4.1
Check Price
Cheap Product

Sangean SR-35 AM/FM Pocket Analog Radio, Black

Sangean SR-35 AM/FM Pocket Analog Radio, Black

Features: Power source type: Battery Powered , The Package Length of the Product is , The Package Width of the Product is

3.8
Check Price

Best digital pocket radio reviews Reviewed!

There is a way to selecting the best digital pocket radio reviews budget and we trust this guide to place you on the right path in helping you find that which would be perfect for you.

1. C. Crane CC Pocket AM FM and NOAA Weather Radio with

The CC Pocket is very easy to use and has excellent overall performance. It has five easy to use memory buttons and it stands upright for convenience and best audio through the speaker. The sides are rubber coated to provide a firm grip and to help protect the radio if dropped. The Stereo/Mono/Speaker switch allows you to listen to the radio via the built-in speaker while using earphones as an antenna for the FM and NOAA Weather Bands.

It is not common for a radio to block a strong signal that overrides a favorite weaker station. The CC Pocket has excellent selectivity while providing maximum sensitivity to weak signal. Standard Features: – Clear, precise and pleasing audio for its size – About 75 hours of play on (2) AA batteries (not included) with earbuds. 25 hrs. using 1.25″, 16ohm, .5W built-in speaker – Premium earbuds included for providing rich lows and crisp highs while listening – Backlight, sleep timer, clock and alarm, removable belt clip (no auto shut-off) – Battery meter, Signal meter, stereo or mono FM reception

indicator – Works with rechargeable batteries. C. Crane loves to design radios for the connoisseur but we don’t want to make radios too complex. The CC Pocket has advanced hidden features not normally found on a pocket radio. Pressing the #1 and #5 keys at the same time, while listening to an AM station, disables the display screen. This allows you to reduce noise and improve AM radio reception under some circumstances.

Advanced Features: – NOAA Weather Radio with Alert (disables AM/FM radio while activated) – Five memory pages for AM/FM – Selectable frequency or clock display while listening – Beep on or off – 1, 9 or 10 KHz selectable tuning steps – Selectable Narrow or Wide AM filter – Factory reset control Size 2.5″ W x 4.25″ H x 1″ D, Weight: 4 Oz.

C. Crane CC Pocket AM FM and NOAA Weather Radio with Clock and Sleep Timer

  • AM/FM and NOAA Weather Band Pocket Sized Radio
  • Excellent selectivity and sensitivity for its size, 5 one touch memory presets
  • Built in speaker or can be used with included earbuds
  • Backlight, Sleep timer, Clock and Alarm, Removable belt clip
  • Runs on (2) AA Batteries
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Can anyone compare distant AM station reception to other pocket radios such as the CC SW Pocket or the Sangean DT-210?

I’ve had two of the Sangean DT-210’s. I noticed right away that the CC’s AM and FM reception is better with noticeably less static noise coming from the speaker for all 5 of my AM and 5 FM stations here in Phoenix.There is still one problematic AM station I deal with but reception is better on the CC for that one.The CC also has a cellphone type signal strength display on the screen so you can twist or move the radio to get the best radio signal for that station. The 210 does not have this feature.

2. does this radio come with a power cord too or will it only run on batteries?

No power Cord, BUT, the way I use this GREAT RADIO! ! !Is buy 4 rechargeable AA batteries and charger as this will save you a lot of $$$ on batteries anyway, then put one set of 2 batteries in the radio, and then you have 2 more batteries to swap out when the first set needs charging. Note this Radio runs about 100hours per charge, so for a Emergency Radio it will last for a while with 4 batteries. a small solar panel that can charge these batteries I a couple hours and you are set.

3. Currently have the Sangean DT-200X. Would I benefit from an upgrade to the CC Pocket radio?

i own them both. the cc pocket is far superior to the sangean dt-200x and any other radio of this type. i own many radios both new and vintage,the cc pocket competes favourably with any of them.

4. Can you disable the beep in the Speaker? I don’t really like having the beep in the speaker when changing pages or presets.

The beep can be disabled. With the power “Off,” press and hold memory button #3 for two seconds.
All beeps will be disabled except Alarm and WX Alert.
Repeat sequence to enable beep again.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

J. Rich says: “IF you want to listen to a radio station from a POCKET radio (sports, news/talk, even music)… this is the one. I am 70+ and have used MANY pocket radios. I hesitated to spend this much money…. Why is this one better? PROS: 1) The on/off, volume, and headset jack are on TOP, unlike most, so that you don’t have to remove the radio from your pocket to use those functions. 2) AWESOMELY simple to use presets… intuitive, UNLIKE others I’ve tried! 3) Presets, on the front, can be pressed through the shirt pocket to change stations, again without removal. 4)
IF you want to listen to a radio station from a POCKET radio (sports, news/talk, even music)… this is the one. I am 70+ and have used MANY pocket radios. I hesitated to spend this much money…. Why is this one better?
PROS:
1) The on/off, volume, and headset jack are on TOP, unlike most, so that you don’t have to remove the radio from your pocket to use those functions.
2) AWESOMELY simple to use presets… intuitive, UNLIKE others I’ve tried!
3) Presets, on the front, can be pressed through the shirt pocket to change stations, again without removal.
4) A side lock switch can be operated to prevent accidental ‘button pushes’.
5) A side Stereo/Mono/Speaker switch also lets the earphones be used as an FM antenna, while listening to the speaker, if needed. (here in DFW area, with strong FM signals, I don’t need to use them)
6) Small radios sometimes struggle picking up weaker AM stations, this one does a great job, in comparison.
CONS: none, CONSIDERING it is a POCKET RADIO. NO, it does NOT produce Hi Fidelity music!! 🙂 but if you know the song, that’s OK. Just hum along.

I received it October 19, 2018, and I write this review Dec 20, 2018. I use it on a regular basis, although not all day every day. The battery indicator has dropped one bar, but still working fine. I was waiting for the batteries to fail, before reviewing, since that has been the concern by some, BUT I have had an issue!! SO, I’m reviewing EARLY.

I had a ‘preset/digital tuning’ issue. I used the ‘Product Support’ tab on my “Your Orders” Amazon page (VERY NICE AMAZON!). I put my phone number in the “Call me” spot, and almost immediately (!!! within 15 seconds!!!) my phone rang! LONG STORY SHORT, I wound up talking to the Customer Support at CCrane who within seconds told me I had inadvertantly had a button ‘long- pushed’ while in the OFF position and that it was now set in European scanning mode. Within a MINUTE I was back in business! Wow! (maybe if I’d read the ‘instructions’ first!!)

Great Product, Great Service from Amazon, Great CUSTOMER SUPPORT FROM CCRANE!!! Yes, I would recommend it, and buy it all over again for myself!.


Show More…

3. Sony ICFP26 Portable AM/FM Radio,Black

Size:Sony ICF-P26 This compact, vertical AM/FM radio is the perfect fit for rooms where space is at a premium. It features a new LED battery status indicator and runs on two AA batteries (not included)— so whether you’re listening through the built-in speaker or via the dedicated headphone socket, you’ll always be able to enjoy great sound.

Sony ICFP26 Portable AM/FM Radio,Black

  • Built-in speaker and headphone jack
  • Telescoping antenna
  • Carrying strap for added convenience
  • Battery powered; 2 x AA (sold separately)
  • LED tuning indicator & LED battery status indicator
  • 4.69 x 2.74 x 1.50 in(W X H X D)
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Is this Stereo?

No. It’s not stereo. You do hear audio in both ear buds – but not in stereophonic audio as recorded in the recording studio. You get mono sound.

2. is this really heavy? Can you listen to it with headphones? and do the headphones work in both ears or just one?

Hi T. Girl,
The weight of this radio is Approx. 190 g (6 3/4 oz) (incl. batteries). You can listen to it using stereo headphones so you can hear it on both ears. Thanks,
>Joffrey

3. Does this radio have an off/on switch?

Yes it does. It’s located on top of radio. It’s a big slide switch that makes it easy to turn on but is made not to turn on
accidentally.

4. what are the dimensions of this radio ?

Mine is 5 and 5/8″ tall, 4 and 5/8″ wide and 1 and 1/8″ thick. I don’t know what the other people were measuring maybe they included the antenna, who knows?
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

dssonic says: “This radio is an update to the excellent ICF-S10MK2 model, so you get the same great sound, reception and battery life with a few improvements: – The biggest, in my opinion, is a flat, more stable base compared to the old rounded base. With such a long antenna, the radio is a bit top heavy and can tip over when it is fully extended (if somebody bumps the table or there is a gust of wind or whatever). This new model doesn’t tip as easily due to the flat base. – Dedicated on/off switch – the old model combined the volume
This radio is an update to the excellent ICF-S10MK2 model, so you get the same great sound, reception and battery life with a few improvements:
– The biggest, in my opinion, is a flat, more stable base compared to the old rounded base. With such a long antenna, the radio is a bit top heavy and can tip over when it is fully extended (if somebody bumps the table or there is a gust of wind or whatever). This new model doesn’t tip as easily due to the flat base.
– Dedicated on/off switch – the old model combined the volume with on/off so you couldn’t leave the volume at your personal sweet spot.
– Headphones will play in both ears – the old version only played in one ear, which was ridiculous. To be fair, this radio is designed more for speaker use than headphone use
– Hinged battery compartment cover so you won’t lose it
– Sleeker appearance; this is personal opinion but I like the new look better
– Battery indicator light that dims when batteries are low

If you are looking for a small battery powered radio, this is the one to buy (with one caveat – there is no weather band; had they added this feature the device would be perfect).


Show More…

5. Kaito KA200 Pocket AM/FM Radio, Black

Color:Black If you want a real high quality AM/FM radio that you can pick up station in a remote area, this KA200 is a right to use. the super slim size with super Hi-quality circuitry built in, this radio makes you believe that Kaito is a serious manufacturer of the radios, you can compare this radio with any similar radio on the market, this KA200 is simply better than any of them.

It is good for sports and travelers.

Kaito KA200 Pocket AM/FM Radio, Black

  • Frequency coverage: AM: 530 – 1600 KHz, FM: 87 – 108 MHz
  • Built-in monophonic earphone jack (earphone not included)
  • Antenna System : AM: Built-in Ferrite Bar Antenna; FM: Telescopic Antenna
  • Tuning LED Indicator
  • 1-year manufacturer’s warranty
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Tony NYCTop Contributor: Health & Wellness

TOP 1000 REVIEWER says: “I find this thing to be the best little radio I have ever had. Reception is great, tuning each station is a cinch since there is a little light that lights up when the station is tuned in perfectly. I also find the sound to be very good, especially on FM. I have honestly bought 5 different small cheapie radios here on Amazon until I found one that was acceptable. The WORST one I purchased was a Sony. This takes 2 AAA batteries and I’m being honest when I tell you that for a small, cheap radio, this one sounds best

and tunes in stations the best. One reviewer mentioned that the FM is bad because of the antenna. Nonsense.. The reception is just fine. I live in NYC and this brings in WBGO in New Jersey better than the other cheap radios that I have purchased.The size is small and I love it. If there are any old timers out there, this is about half the size of the cheapie transistor radios we all grew up with as a kid.
THIS IS AN HONEST REVIEW WRITTEN BY ME. A PERSON WHO HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE SELLER OR MANUFACTURER OF THIS ITEM..

Show More…

6. C Crane CC Skywave AM, FM, Shortwave, Weather and Airband Portable

The CC Skywave opens up a marvelous world of radio at home or when traveling. It has an intuitive layout so it is easy to use and has fantastic overall performance. Excellent AM reception for such a small portable radio. Strong ability to reduce signal interference. Worldwide Shortwave coverage from 2.3-26.1 MHz. NOAA weather radio with alert so you can be warned of local weather advisories. Aviation/Airband allows you to listen in on nearby traffic controllers.

Excellent sound for such a small speaker. Perfect size for stashing in an interior crevice of any carry on. Standard features: Clear and pleasing audio for the size, 400 memory presets, direct entry keypad, auto scan, lighted LCD display. Rotary volume knob, Clock with 12/24 hour format, sleep timer, stereo headphone jack, fold out back stand, battery meter, signal meter, lock switch. .5W built-in speaker. Earbuds and carry case included.

9/10 kHz selectable tuning steps. Runs approx. 60-70 hrs. at moderate volume on (2) AA batteries (not included) or can be powered by an optional AC adapter. Size 4.75” W x 3” H x 1.1” D, 5.5 oz. without batteries. Never listened to the Aviation band? This band lets you listen in on nearby air traffic controllers. When traveling, airline schedule changes and problems can be perplexing. Listening to control towers can provide entertainment and informative bits of information.

It is as simple as having the Skywave scan for an active frequency. The best one is usually the approach frequency used for planes that are landing. You can also search the web for “air traffic control radio Seattle” for example, to find information and to learn more about aviation radio. If you live next to a smaller airport you could ask a local pilot for the frequency or look up “common traffic advisory frequency” plus the airport name.

English is the standard language used in aviation at all airports worldwide.

C Crane CC Skywave AM, FM, Shortwave, Weather and Airband Portable Travel Radio with Clock and Alarm

  • Small Lightweight Portable AM/FM/Shortwave/Weather/Airband Travel Clock Radio With Alarm.
  • Lighted LCD Display, Rotary Volume Knob, Stereo Headphone Jack, Sleep Timer
  • 400 Memory Presets, Direct Entry Keypad, Autoscan Tuning, Signal Meter
  • Runs approx. 60-70 hrs. at moderate volume on (2) AA batteries (not included) or can be powered by an optional AC adapter
  • Includes Earbuds, Carry Case and Fold-out Backstand. 1 Year Warranty.
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. The listing here says the shipping weight is “0.3 ounces”. Does anyone know what this actually weighs? (considering for ditch bag, so weight matters)

With two standard AA batteries installed the entire unit ( including the little strap )weighs exactly 228 grams or 8.0 ounces. ( 0.502 pounds)

2. Does radio come with AC adapter or is that extra

AC adapter does NOT come with the radio. It is extra @ Amazon for$14.99. Two AA Batteries last 60 to 70 hours if radio is played at moderate volume.
As an emergency radio, I would stock up on a few AA Batteries when power is not available. Also, buy the insurance plan for only $4. Total repair or replacement at no charge.
Also, a great radio for camping. Reception would be the only question.

3. Is radio High Def?

HD Radio is noted as being High Density, not High Definition. High Density allows digital sub channels within the same bandwidth. This radio does not demodulate or decode HD Radio format stations.

4. Does the radio come with the “optional AC power supply” or must that be bought separately?

Don’t recall receiving an AC power supply. I removed the batteries and was able to recover audio by plugging a USB cable into the “USB in 5v” jack. Seems like an acceptable AC power source to me.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

California Audiophool says: “I simultaneously bought a Tecsun PL-660 and a CC Skywave from Amazon. I got the black versions of each. Out of the box you can immediately feel that both have a good build quality. The turn knobs on the side of the Tecsun felt slightly lose; it was possible to wobble one a bit, but overall both feel great with the Skywave having a slightly better fit/build of the knobs. The other thing you notice straight out of the box if that the Tecsun has a lot more features available by buttons and a larger screen, but on the other hand
it is a much larger item than the Skywave.

The skywave fits in my sweater pocket no problem (although it’s noticably bulkier than an iphone), but the Tecsun reminds me more of my old table top scanner; but that’s okay, since would be okay with that, if the performance increase matches the size increase. Basically you could call the C Crane a pocket radio but the Tecsun is more of a desk-top, around-the-house radio, although I would be tempted to throw it in a backpack. Both radios come with a protective pouch for such activities. Both have a flip out stand on the back, but the Tecsun has two parts that pop out, making it very stable indeed. The Tecsun also has a much longer whip antenna. Both radios have a wrist strap, which I don’t anticipate ever using, unless maybe i hung it off of a bag. Both have sleep timers. I like using the sleep timers at night when i go to bed. Each have more than enough memory slots for storing stations and settings. At first I wished the keypad on the CC was backlit but it’s so simple and intuitive after one day i already knew all the buttons in the dark by touch.

First, the Tecsun was harder for me to operate without checking the manual. Scanning and storing just isn’t as quite as intuitive as on the C Crane radio. That said, I think the Tecsun has a lot more to offer in the long run, in terms of features, so the steeper learning curve might not bother some. And, it’s not very steep. I do think the Tecsun manual is not quite as well written (more on that later).

SOUND QUALITY:
Both radios have a mono speaker. The Tecsun has a much larger speaker, afforded by the radio’s larger size, and is capable of much louder volumes. There is absolutely no bass on the C Crane, although it is quite clear and good for voice (onc just has to accept it’s a pocket sized radio, and one can be quite happy), where as the Tecsun has a bit of bass. However, the sound quality is not as good as I was expecting from reading previous reviews which said good things about the Tecsun speakers. I really couldn’t listen to music on either radio, but both are fine for voice. One things I noticed immediately on the Tecsun is that although there is bass, the treble sounded overemphasized… you know that horrible splashy percussion sound. It is then I noticed the “tone” switch on the side of the Tecsun. It was set to “treble”. The other option is “bass”, which did increase bass but left the radio completely lacking in treble… also not desirable. The oddest part of all of that is there is no ‘neutral’ setting. The manual is especially useless in explaining exactly what the tone switch does, and I quote, “Push the [TONE] switch upward for “TREBLE” listening, downward for “BASS” tone. On the other hand, the CC Skywave has a ‘voice’ and ‘music’ setting, and the manual clearly explains what both do (‘music’ is full bandwidth and ‘voice’ applies a bandpass filter that reduces bandwidth which may help make voice more audible and I found it to remove noise on very weak stations – the manual was very clear about all of this and how to use it!).

While I was disappointed with the speaker output this isn’t a big deal breaker for me, because hey, it’s a portable radio and I have my big hi-fi setup for when I’m not moving around. Before buying either of these I fully expected this and my plan was always to utilize the headphone outputs. I have quite a large collection of cans and in-ear-monitors and the idea was to use these radios on my commute, hiking, or around the house with headphones to not disturb others and get decent sound. Now, the shortfalls of EQing/tone-switch mentioned above with the Tecsun speaker carry over to the headphone output. On the other hand, moving over to the CC Skywave, the sound is really quite excellent. The only downfall I could point to is that the headphone amp does have a rather high noisefloor; there is a gentle hiss that can be heard if using isolating in-ear-monitors. Basically, the CC verged on sounding hi-fi!

AM PERFORMANCE:
Okay, onto the tuner performance. Again, operation for me was easier with the Skywave – I just found it more intuitive and only had to check the manual for special features. Starting with AM performance I found the Tecsun and the CC to be quite similar, with the Skywave having a slight edge in picking up stations, but I just did a quite test on a few stations; quite comparable. I know the PL-660 claims some fancy AM features but I don’t see the proof in the pudding.

FM PERFORMANCE:
As for FM performance the Skyway did a great job picking up most stations I pickup with my McIntosh MR500 or my Sansui tuners, with their external antenna. It’s truly impressive how well it picks up stations with that tiny whip antenna. And via headphones it can sound really really good for FM. Sadly the Tecsun was a disaster. I’m in SF and tuning into the classical station 90.3, which is a fringe reception station where I live is not problem on the CC Skywave – it’s not perfect, but stereo and solid signal, albeit with a few artifacts. The Tecsun really couldn’t even pick up the station at all. I never got stereo, and heard more of the Jazz station 1.5 MHz away, no matter which antenna gain setting I used. The Tecsun was able to pick up strong stations like 88.5 and the local jazz station in San Mateo. Even when tuned into a station with a strong signal the skywave had far fewer artifacts where as the Tecsun has significant distortion on parts of the music, even for strong signals. I was going between the two, using the headphone output, having both radios position in their optimum reception position. The CC Skywave did a better job across the board.

Another odd thing is that the Tecsun tuner as offset. For example, to tune into 98.100, the best reception was had at 98.140 (whereas the CC Skywave was spot on at 98.100). This doesn’t sound like a lot, but the offset wasn’t consistant across the spectrum. It’s really quite annoying. A rather odd thing is that when using the automatic scanning the radio would stop at 98.100, thinking it is strongest reception, but 98.1 to 98.18 were fringe reception and 98.4 was center. Maybe my particular unit has a fault, but I swear I heard someone else saying something like this in a review on one of the HAM websites.

SHORTWAVE:
Next I tried the shortwave. I was able to pickup a couple of stations on each, and the reception was quite comparable (possible with the Skywave coming through slightly stronger). I did not apply external antennas and just used the whip antenna. i didn’t play with the SSB feature of the Tecsun (the skywave doesn’t have this). I was able to pickup Australia in the mornings loud and clear, but I wouldn’t say the SW feature is strong with the standard antennas.

AIR:
Moving over to AIR band, was tuned into SFO (120.5 MHz). The used two pairs of headphones, with one earbud from the Tecsun in my left ear, and an earbud coming from the CC Skywave in the other ear. No matter how I repositioned the devices I heard only part of the conversation on the Tecsun. With the Tecsun i only heard one party from time to time (tower?), while I could hear other parties on the Skywave. With the Tecsun it was like hearing one side of a phone call. The squelch feature on the skywave came in handy too.

The CC Skywave also have weather band which works find. I can pick up two channels from my place.

The Tecsun has a gain setting switch, which could conceivably help if you have two stations close together. If one was much stronger than the other you could get rid of the weaker station by turning to gain down. I played with this feature when doing my testing above and it didn’t improve any of the issues I had with the Tecsun FM reception.

The Tecsun does have an antennas socket, that the Skywave doesn’t. (but you can get similar antennas that clip onto the whip antenna). I didn’t test this with the provide wire antenna. I wanted to just compare the portable radios with their whip antenna.

The Tecsun runs on 4x AA batteries, where as the skywave takes 2x AA batteries. i didn’t compare lifetime. Both can charge if rechargable batteries are used. The Tecsun actually came with 4x rechargeable batteries and a switched-mode power supply. The CC Skywave came with no power supply of batteries in my package. However, this was on purpose in my case. While the Tecsun has only a regular circular DC socket, the Skywave has the option of a similar power supply, or using microusb (so I use my iphone charger and an appropriate cable, which I think is a much more elegant solution than carry an additional power supply). Both radios can recharge batteries internally.

Both also come with earbud style headphones. I didn’t use either since I have a bunch of high quality earphones. What I can tell you is that the CC Skywave earphones look quite stylish, almost like some VMODA, where as the Tecsun are much more utilitarian (plain grey).

Perhaps my FM tuner issue is a fault, but given the much large size, and poor headphone output, I think the CC Skywave is drastically better on almost all fronts. I would love to hear any suggestions on portable tuners with even better headphone amps. I am returning the Tecsun, since I think it is not performing as advertised. I am keeping the Skywave and ordering another for my sister!

EDIT: still happy with this as of Sep 2017! Great little unit. Not sure I noted this, but the battery usage is really low and impressive too..


Show More…

8. Sangean DT-400W AM/FM Digital Weather Alert Pocket Radio

Product Description The Sangean Model DT-400W is the last pocket radio you will ever need to buy. It has about everything you could want, and then some, in a small, pocket sized portable radio. As an example the NOAA Weather Alert Emergency Channel sounds a very loud audible tone when an extreme weather condition is imminent and/or a police emergency or a child abduction has occurred or any type of public awareness becomes critical.

Even with your radio off or you are listening to another station the weather alert monitor continues to monitor the NOAA channels should an emergency arise. To conserve battery life the DT-400W provides an option to select the time you would like the NOAA alert to be active and a small LED alert flashes to remind you that the alert is on. In addition to emergencies, the 7 NOAA channels provide up to date general weather information useful if you’re planning a trip or just a picnic for the weekend.

The large backlit LCD display clearly displays the time, station, battery life indication, alert indication and all other pertinent information. Advanced PLL Synthesized Digital Receiver provides drift-free AM/FM reception. Deep Bass Boost adds to your stereo musical listening pleasure and 19 random preset selections lets you mix AM/FM stations with immediate access through the My Favorites button. Other features include Lock Switch to prevent accidental set-up changes, optional 90-minute auto shutoff, built-in speaker, auto station seek and a removable belt clip.

From the Manufacturer The Sangean Model DT-400W is the last pocket radio you will ever need to buy. It has about everything you could want, and then some, in a small, pocket sized portable radio. As an example the new NOAA Weather Alert Emergency Channel sounds a very loud audible tone when an extreme weather condition is imminent and/or a police emergency or a child abduction has occurred or any type of public awareness becomes critical.

Even with your radio off or you are listening to another station the weather alert monitor continues to monitor the NOAA channels should an emergency arise. To conserve battery life the DT-400W provides an option to select the time you would like the NOAA alert to be active and a small LED alert flashes to remind you that the alert is on. In addition to emergencies the 7 NOAA channels provide up to date general weather information useful if you’re planning a trip or just a picnic for the weekend.

The large backlit LCD display clearly displays the time, station, battery life indication, alert indication and all other pertinent information. Advanced PLL Synthesized Digital Receiver provides drift free AM/FM reception. Deep Bass Boost adds to your stereo musical listening pleasure and 19 random preset selections lets you mix AM/FM stations with immediate access through the “My Favorites” button. Other features include Lock Switch to prevent accidental set-up changes, optional 90 minute auto shutoff, built-in speaker, auto station seek and a removable belt clip.

Sangean DT-400W AM/FM Digital Weather Alert Pocket Radio

  • Digital AM/FM/NOAA Public Alert Weather Radio with PLL Synthesized Tuning
  • 19 Random Presets for AM/FM/WX with My Favorite Station Select Button
  • Real Time Clock, Sleep Timer, Auto Seek and Optional 90 Minute Auto Shut Off
  • Built-In Speaker with DBB (Dynamic Bass Boost), Large Backlit LCD Display and Stereo Headphone Output
  • Removable Belt Clip, FM Wire Antenna and Earbuds Included, Uses 2 AA Batteries (not included)
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Could anyone comment on the sound quality of the speaker on the DT-400W versus the DT-210?

The DT-400 is a Emergency radio, the Speaker is good for Emergency radio listening it Conservers Battery POWER for Longer playing time on a single set of batteries. To do this you have to use less power somewhere I am very glad and very happy with its soundand sound quality. Better sound is had by using a Nice pair of in the ear earbuds. OR get a larger stereo, as One radio does not fill all categories when it come to radios. I have 12 different radios, each is a tool that has its own purpose.

2. where do I buy another fm trailing antenna

BUY A HEADPHONE JACK CONNECTOR, SOLDER IT TO A PIECE OF WIRE. I made three of them one is similar to the oem unit the other is 30 feet long and the last one was 75 feet line. The 75 foot line wire antenna is for up on the roof for pulling in far stations I just run it into the window. Then connect it to any of my radios for FM the 30 foot antenna is for back packing or camping, run it out to a tree then step back 30 feet and stretch it out to get much better signal strength

3. Does this get good reception from distant radio stations? I camp in the Rockies and have a hard time pulling in radio stations at night. Thanks!!

the Sangean DT400-W has very good reception in both AM and FM bands and Noaa. When I go camping or backpacking way Out in mountainous terrain, I take a 30 foot Clip on wire antenna the wire antenna comes on a handy reel, for easy extension and rolling up.Antenna length is a function of tuning the antenna mathematically to the desired wavelength (frequency) one wants to monitor. Meaning that a long antenna such as this is mostly for enhancing reception of all transmissions hitting the antenna.
Misunderstanding the results of these long antennas is what is causing people to say ‘It doesn’t help much.” They do not understand that bringing in more transmissions also brings in excessive ‘clutter’, aka noise; and if there just isn’t more to receive, they ain’t gonna get it either; so they say the reception is not enhanced.
Amateur operators use wire antennas 60′ (very short) to hundreds of feet. Meaning long antennas are good. So, this will also pull in distant commercial AM & FM stations – if they are there. It all boils down to what is available to receive with current atmospheric conditions. In other words, it will depend on where you are in relation to the transmitters. Might, or might not help, due to that.
this is a nice, compact variable length antenna, or make your own antenna out of speaker wire,etc

4. i listen to am/talk radio—how does this work for my purposes

I found this to be the best “Pocket Radio” on the market and I ONLY listedn to talk AM, NPR/PRN/RIP FM talk & entertainment. Either on speaker or ear buds, this Sangean DT-400 Digital is that BEST that I could find that gave me everything I wanted in listening to “Talk Radio”!!
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

glassfet says: “I am finished with “low priced radios”. I am an experienced radio user and have been around radios since vacuum tubes. Yes – even portables using those 1 volt filament tubes. Fast forward to today, and I can testify that there is a World of difference between this Sangean and the $20 imitators. Now, if you are content with the FM radio in your cell phone or think that a $20 portable does just fine, then by all means carry on. This radio is wasted on you. You’ll buy it and will not be able to appreciate it. In rare circumstances
the light might go on and you’ll understand why some one would spend this kind of money on a “pocket radio”.

The radio has NO vices. It is sensitive and it is selective on all bands. Thats AM, FM and NOAA weather. The built in speaker is at best OK, but with a decent set of earphones the radio shines. The earphone cable is the antenna. I think this is a feature, not a detriment, having destroyed countless telescopic whips over the years. It will run off its 2 – AA cells almost forever. The display is bright and clear and large. I like the yellow back light. Yes, it has memories for your AM/FM favorites.

For the Weather stations, this radio does not scan, and it does not do SAME.

Build quality is excellent. While the case is plastic, it feels solid in your hand. There is a nice touch – the battery door is hinged. It will not allow for charging. It will run off rechargeables just fine. It just won’t charge them. Since the battery life is so good, I just use alkaline.

There are a few other radios in this class. Not many mind you. I would include the C Crane portable and the out of production Radio Shack 12-802 as alternatives. If you don’t want the NOAA Weather, then consider the DT-210.

I rarely give 5 stars. This Sangean deserves them. The radio has no real vices and has excellent performance. Yes, there IS a difference between this and cheaper examples. You’ll have to decide for yourself if this is enough to make the purchase decision. For me, this is a keeper..


Show More…

10. Sangean DT-200X FM-Stereo/AM Digital Tuning Pocket Radio Black

Style:Radio From the Manufacturer Simple quality, simple to use functions, and simply great design. Keep up-to-date on the latest news, weather, traffic, sports scores, and much more with this ultra-portable pocket radio from Sangean. Pocket-Sized The DT-200X is a small PLL-synthesized AM/FM stereo radio that’s small enough to fit in a shirt or jacket pocket, and powerful enough to pull in those distant AM/FM stations. It measures a mere 2.5 by 4.2 by 1.2 inches, and weighs only 3.8 ounces, making it portable enough to take anywhere.

Portable enough to take anywhere Big Features You get 19 memory presets (and auto scan), plus a My Favorite Stations feature to help you zip right to preferred stations. The radio comes with stereo earbuds and a removable belt clip, as well as a trailing antenna. A stereo-mono switch improves reception when needed, and the built-in speaker affords headphones-free listening. With Phase Loop Lock Digital Tuning and Sangean’s traditional radio sensitivity, built-in speaker and included earbuds, you will be able to enjoy your morning jog, your short trip to the beach, or other outing without missing your favorite AM/FM station

if you have the DT-200X pocket radio. Battery Powered with Auto Shut-Off The Sangean DT-200X runs on two AA batteries (not included). A low-battery indicator on the LCD display offers a helpful hint on when it’s wise to carry replacements. 90-minute auto shut-off lets you fall asleep to the radio without fear of waking up to dead batteries.

Sangean DT-200X FM-Stereo/AM Digital Tuning Pocket Radio Black

  • Am/ FM-Stereo pocket radio with drift-free PLL Synthesized tuner and built-in speaker
  • 19 radom AM/FM memory presets with Auto station Scanning and auto seek
  • Large backlit LCD display, selectable stereo/mono switch, stereo headphone output, low battery indicator, 90 minute auto shut off, DBB dynamic bass boost, lock switch, My favorite stations and real time clock
  • Removable belt clip, stereo earbuds, trailing antenna included
  • High-impact ABS case measures just 4. 2”H x 2. 5”W x . 75”D inches
  • Drift-free, PLL synthesized tuning, 19 FM/AM memory presets with auto station scanning
  • Removable belt clip, stereo ear buds, trailing antenna included
  • Show more
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. The AM band in my car radio no longer works. Can I plug this into the auxiliary jack and listen to AM radio through the car?

Hi Miggy,Although I don’t have a jack in my car radio to try what you asked about, I see absolutely no reason why it wouldn’t work. The car radio jacks are designed for MP3 players and the Sangean radio’soutput should be essentially identical to that of an MP3 player. You’ll need only a male/male stereo cable to make the connection. The only thing I’d be concerned about is whether the Sangean’s reception inside the car is acceptable. My guess is that if you’re in an urban environment and the station is a powerful one you should be OK. Amazon is excellent about returns so if you keep all the packaging you should have no problems returning the radio if reception isn’t what you had hoped.

2. Does it has permanent rod antenna or it’s wire antenna which hangs out while listening to FM band. Thanks,

The AM antenna is internal.The FM antenna is external and it is connected to the headphone jack.The external FM antenna is either the headphone cable (when listening to speaker or headphones) or the included cable that plugs into the headphone jack.If nothing is plugged into the headphone jack the radio has no FM antenna. The AM antenna is a coil of wire wrapped around a ferrite core.It has directional gain and you can sometimes improve reception by rotating the radio when listening to weak AM signals.

3. Does this have built in speakers? You can not use ear buds or head phones and you can still hear the radio?

it has a built in speaker, and occassionaly my husband will use his ear buds when working in the yard, and he can hear it very well, but the speakers are off when ear buds are in.

4. i lost the directions where can i find out how to preset stations etc?

choose an active chanel and press and hold preset button
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Todderbert says: “This tiny radio performs on a whole different level. I’m very impressed with its overall build quality and its easy to use interface. Search my name and model on youtube to find a detailed video about this device. Sure this radio is a bit more then your $20 fare. Its not a Tecsun that has a million different band options. Sangean just built a radio that sounds better with headphones then any other portable I own at the moment. Features I like best about this radio: * LCD screen with side light. * Clock feature. * Digital tuner that locks in
This tiny radio performs on a whole different level. I’m very impressed with its overall build quality and its easy to use interface. Search my name and model on youtube to find a detailed video about this device.

Sure this radio is a bit more then your $20 fare. Its not a Tecsun that has a million different band options. Sangean just built a radio that sounds better with headphones then any other portable I own at the moment.

Features I like best about this radio:
* LCD screen with side light.
* Clock feature.
* Digital tuner that locks in on faint stations.
* Easy memory navigation.
* AM reception is incredible for its size.
* FM reception is also amazing.
* Headphone listening is the best by far.
* Small, pocket size.
* Sleep timer.
* 9-Step option on the AM band.
* Auto-Seek, Quick Seek, and single step tuning modes.
* DBB – Deep Bass Boost.

Features I wish it had:
* Alarm.
* 24 hour clock
* Instead of a belt clip a fold out stand.

I’ve love this little black pearl of a radio. It gets a solid buy from me. You will not regret your purchase at all..


Show More…

12. Retekess PR12 Mini AM FM Radio, Portable Pocket Radio, Walkman Radio

Retekess PR12 Mini AM FM Radio, Portable Pocket Radio, Walkman Radio with SD Card, Clear Display and Earphone Jack for Jogging and Gym(Black)

  • Portable radio; PR12 is the size of a lighter; 3.4 x 1.8 x 0.7 inches and 0.15lb weight size; idea for home; travelling; truck; camping; hiking;walking;bicycle;jogging
  • Digital radio with MP3 player; powerful speaker with amazing sound; support TF card in which you can store MP3 music; display will display the number of the song; 3.5mm earphone jack for you enjoying music quietly
  • FM AM Radio with DSP technology; AM(520/522-1710KHz) FM(64/87-108MHz) reception is very good; easy to find local stations; long press play button to adjust AM steps
  • PR12 small radio with back-light LCD display;displaying the volume level;frequency;battery consumption and other mode you set or choose;The display is clear and its backlight is pleasing in color and very bright
  • Built-in 500mAh rechargeable lithium battery; PR12 has a good battery life and recharges quite quickly; it can be charged via USB cable supplied; you can charge the radio by connecting with computer; car; wall plug;power bank
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Is there a charge indicator? Will you see if the charge is full or still charging?

Hello friend, it has a charge indicator in top right corner, when the radio is charging, the icon flash, when the battery fully, three full bars showing on the screen indicates a full charge.

2. Hello, what are the best ear buds to use for this? I need the brand name. Do you also sell them on Amazon?

Dear Friend, Thanks for your question!

The radio fit 3.5mm earphone jack, but can’t with mic. we don’t have ear buds to sell on Amazon.

3. Does this radio play only mp3 format or does it play wma format also?

Hello friend, PR12 am fm radio just supports MP3 format. so you need to store the file in MP3 format . if you have any problems, please contact us at any time.

4. Does it have stereo function?

Stereo works on headphone.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

George L. NagyTop Contributor: Shortwave Radios says: “This little radio is the latest addition to my collection of more than 50 portable radios. My observations are as follows: 1. The PR12 is a unique piece with little competition on the market. Miniaturization has been brought to a new level here. Only walkman-type radios are as small, but of course, they have no built-in speakers. 2. The sound quality is unsurpassed for a speaker of this size. I could compare it to the sound you get from your iPad. 3. The MP3 player accepts a memory card capable of playing more than ten thousand songs. 4. The AM/FM-radio has
This little radio is the latest addition to my collection of more than 50 portable radios. My observations are as follows:
1. The PR12 is a unique piece with little competition on the market. Miniaturization has been brought to a new level here. Only walkman-type radios are as small, but of course, they have no built-in speakers.
2. The sound quality is unsurpassed for a speaker of this size. I could compare it to the sound you get from your iPad.
3. The MP3 player accepts a memory card capable of playing more than ten thousand songs.
4. The AM/FM-radio has a crisp, clear sound, and it has automatic tuning. Within one minute, you can put all local stations in the memory of the radio.
5. The battery must have been specially designed for the radio because a standard 5 Volt battery would never fit into it. This battery is comparable to one you find in your iPod or cell phone.
6. Quality costs money. This is why I don’t expect the price of this little wonder to fall very much in the future.

Things you are not going to find in this radio:
1. The radio has no clock or sleep timer.
2. The MP3 player displays the number of the song played but not the title.
3. The battery cannot be changed if the radio gets old, however, I believe the built-in battery can be charged about one thousand times, and it will outlive the other components of the radio.
4. The radio or MP3 has no graphic equalizer.
5. The radio does not come with a protective case. I found an old leather camera case, which worked just fine.
If you are looking for small size, combined with superior sound, this radio will do. I intend to take it with me on my trip to Europe, although I have many other alternatives.
I hope potential future buyers find this review helpful..


Show More…

14. Sangean DT-800BK AM / FM / NOAA Weather Alert Rechargeable Pocket

Color:Black Looking for a portable handheld sized weather alert radio? This Sangean DT-800 AM/FM/NOAA Weather Alert Pocket Radio sounds a very loud audible tone when an extreme weather condition is imminent and/or a police emergency or child abduction has occurred or any type of public awareness becomes critical. Even with your radio off or you are listening to another station, the weather alert monitor on this black portable weather radio continues to monitor the NOAA channels should an emergency arise.

Sangean DT-800BK AM / FM / NOAA Weather Alert Rechargeable Pocket Radio (Black/Gray)

  • Included Components: Ac Adapter;Belt Clip;Fm Wire Antenna;Earbuds
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. What is the current firmware for the DT-800? Is it still 1.0?

I just received a DT-800 on 11/27/2020 with a firmware version 3. (VERP03)

2. Hello. What is the difference between the 400 and the 800? Thank you.

You should check the specs for both to get a complete answer, but, it appears that the 800 has a built-in rechargeable battery that recharges with a USB cord (like a cell/smart phone). The 400 uses non-rechargeable AA batteries and doesn’t even have a socket for an adapter. I’ve had two of the 400s and they suited me fine. I would worry that the built-in rechargeable battery would degrade over time, but that’s me.

3. Does the buyer need to get rechargeable batteries or does it use regular aa batteries? do rechargeable batteries come with it along with a charger? tx

I have only used regular AA batteries, it comes with 1 set of AA’s but I’m a die hard Duracell user.
So I put Duracells in mine.
I would imagine it would take re-chargables.

The package does not include a charger.

FWIW I love this radio!!!!!

4. Is there a easy way to change battery?

Yes. Put rechargeable NIMH batteries in, set the internal switch in the battery compartment to rechargeable, plug in the wall power, and the wall power both charges the batteries and runs the radio.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Dom8 says: “Sangean DT800BK So, I have this radio for several days now and I enjoy it very much. Radio is full of functions and it’s fairly easy to set up an navigate through the menu, I definitely like the design and shape. Radio is rubberized and feels nice in hands. Cool option is that you can Auto select stations for both AM and FM band, I had a major concern first time when I was doing auto search with headphones attached instead of wire antenna. What happened was that when I was doing auto search with antenna wire the radio found about
Sangean DT800BK
So, I have this radio for several days now and I enjoy it very much. Radio is full of functions and it’s fairly easy to set up an navigate through the menu, I definitely like the design and shape. Radio is rubberized and feels nice in hands. Cool option is that you can Auto select stations for both AM and FM band, I had a major concern first time when I was doing auto search with headphones attached instead of wire antenna. What happened was that when I was doing auto search with antenna wire the radio found about 35 stations immediately and overwrite some that were previously found, as you can save 20 FM and 20 AM stations, but when I tried to do the same thing with headphones instead of antenna cable it only found about six or seven stations. Now I tried to do the same thing with better quality personal headphones and result was much better it found about 18 stations on first auto search. For some of you that may be a problem but if you find & save radio stations using a antenna wire, reception is going to be very good and excellent for some stations when you use headphones to listen to your radio. I did try one more thing, where I reset the radio twice and tried to do auto search with headphones that came with the radio and they found I believe it was 20 radio stations. Now in most cases you’ll get much better signal with wire antenna then headphones. Sound is pretty awesome on both for listening music and speech. Like I mentioned earlier you can save 20 AM and 20 FM stations and it works like a charm, it is very easy to select pre saved radio stations. Also radio has RDS available for radio stations that use it, it’s a nice option to have. It comes with weather band and you can choose between 5 channels instead of 7 like on some other weather radios, it allows you to save all five of them as a preset, what I noticed is that NOAA weather band is a little weaker signal and voice is not as clear like when listening to radio, it is somehow deeper and quieter sound. Talking about the speaker it’s small but definitely does great job for it size and radio, max volume is 25 and it gets really loud on music. The LCD screen is well-lit all across and there is no shadings or less visible areas.
You can also use both alkaline and rechargeable batteries, and radio also comes with an adapter so you can plug it in and charge batteries that are inside of the radio while you are actually listening to it. Personally I use Eneloop rechargeable batteries and I haven’t changed them since Friday midday when I got the radio, for the reference today’s Tuesday evening so I had radio for a full 4 days. Overall it is an excellent radio, even though price is premium and a little steep but it is well worth it if you want top notch pocket radio.
In a headline I said that radio is almost exceptional, and it would be with short-wave band 🙂 Just kidding, it’s a great pocket radio and I am very pleased with this purchase.

Show More…

16. Eton Elite Field AM/FM/Shortwave Desktop Radio with Bluetooth

Style:Radio Ready and tested the Eton Field BT receives most every radio wavelength—am (mw), FM, and shortwave (sw)—at home or abroad. It’s easy to set the station spacing and frequency so your stations come in loud and clear wherever you are. And with Bluetooth You can stream your own music or favorite podcast. If digital Radio is more your style, tune into Hd radio in North America or dab+ internationally.

With high sensitivity, strong anti-interference, low background noise, and even lower distortion, listening on the Eton Field BT is a real pleasure. Plus, its wide/narrow bandwidth selection improves audio fidelity and minimizes noise. Listen out loud Or plug in your favorite headphones. The Eton Field BT radio Features RDS for FM. Rds stands for radio data system and it enables FM broadcasters to deliver more than just an analog audio signal, but also to transmit digital data, like the station’s call letters, style of music, song Title, artist and more.

With local and world time settings, radio and buzzer alarm clock settings, sleep timer and snooze light, the Eton Field BT keeps you in time in any time zone. And if you want to prevent the radio or alarm from turning on all together, Just hit lock. When it comes to tuning in to your favorite frequency, You can take it fast or slow. The dial-in-dial tuning knob lets you select your speed—fast, slow or stop to keep it in a locked position.

The Eton Field BT radio Includes a built-in hand strap for carrying your radio with ease. Use 4 D batteries (not included) or plug in the supplied AC adapter into the DC jack for full power. The battery strength indicator on the display will let you know when it’s time for a change.

Eton Elite Field AM/FM/Shortwave Desktop Radio with Bluetooth

  • AM/FM SHORTWAVE RADIO: With high sensitivity, strong anti-interference, low background noise, & even lower distortion, this Bluetooth ready AM/FM/shortwave radio delivers excellent audio quality.
  • FINE TUNING: This radio features an LCD display with coarse/fine digital tuning, treble/bass control & 50 memory stations. It’s Bluetooth ready so you can stream your own music or favorite podcast.RF gain control
  • VERSATILE RECEIVER: This radio includes a line-in/line-out & headphone jacks, plus an FM telescopic antenna & external AM/FM/shortwave antenna connections. Plus it comes with a handy carrying strap!
  • CONTINUING A LEGACY: For more than 30 years we’ve combined the best of old world analog electronics with the efficiency of modern day circuits & systems. Custom designed accessories like stitched satchels & pouches round out the Eton experience.
  • ETON’S COMMITMENT TO INFORMATION: We’re committed to helping you stay entertained with access to the latest news, music & information. Whether you’re listening to a local radio station or signals from a faraway land, make Eton’s radios your go-to source.
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Where is this radio made?

The tag on the bottom of the radio says, “designed in California, made in China “

2. The backlight stays on even with the backlight switch turned to OFF, is the radio defective?

The backlight goes off after use of one of the controls like turning the dial knob. My radio is completely black after a couple seconds. I would say your radio is defectiveRoy

3. Does this use battries?

4 D batteries or AC plug. There’s one new one on ebay for 111 dollars. Great deal.

4. What to do about severe freq drift and uncontrolled band shift?

I have none, but I would ask for a new one or send it back.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Adam S. Koniak says: “I’ve owned a few different Eton products and have to say that this is the best built product I’ve seen from them. The controls are well laid out, and make sense while still delivering a ton of functionality, and don’t require a ton of handholding to get going. The dials feel great and allow for super granular control when necessary to tune in specific frequencies. There are even recommendations in the user manual for additional resources to get you started. Use of D cell batteries mean this will work in the field or at home, and the attention to detail is
obvious all over. The handle opens up to be a shoulder strap when going portable in a very elegant way. The speaker design is pretty impressive for this category of device as well, making it even pretty functional as a Bluetooth speaker. Definitely happy with this purchase as I’ve been looking for a good radio..

Show More…

18. Sangean SR-35 AM/FM Pocket Analog Radio, Black

Product Description With Phase Loop Lock Digital Tuning and Sangean’s traditional radio sensitivity you will be able to enjoy your next day trip, your short trip to the beach, or other outing without missing your favorite AM/FM station if you have the SR-35 pocket radio. From the Manufacturer SR-35 FM / AM Hand-Held Receiver Analog Tuning AM / FM 2 Bands Hand-Held Size Excellent Sound and Reception Built-In Speaker Earphones Jack Large Dial Scale with Smooth Tuning The Sangean SR-35 AM/FM Analog Radio is an attractively-styled, pocket-sized radio with simplicity and function in mind and it offers a combination of

features for enjoyable AM/AM/Stereo listening. In true Sangean tradition, AM/FM reception is excellent providing clear and static free listening, and the dial precisely tunes your station selection displayed in a softly lighted analog display. It has excellent reception and audio for its size. A convenient neck strap is included. 2.25″ full-range speaker provides surprising clarity and crisp tones. View larger Highly Portable The SR-35 is a small PLL-synthesized AM/FM stereo radio that’s small enough to hold in your hand, and powerful enough to pull in those distant AM/FM stations.

It measures a mere 2.76 by 4.84 by 1.22 inches, and weighs only 5.9 ounces, making it portable enough to take anywhere. Built-In Speaker This radio features a built-in speaker for convenient headphone-free listening. The 2.25-inch, full-range speaker provides surprising clarity and crisp tones, whether you’re catching up on the latest news or listening to your favorite music station. With Phase Loop Lock Digital Tuning and Sangean’s traditional radio sensitivity, built-in speaker and included earbuds, you will be able to enjoy your next day trip, your short trip to the beach, or other outing without missing your favorite AM/FM station

if you have the SR-35 pocket radio.

Sangean SR-35 AM/FM Pocket Analog Radio, Black

  • Power source type: Battery Powered
  • The Package Length of the Product is 4.826 centimeters
  • The Package Width of the Product is 17.272 centimeters
  • The Package Height of the Product is 25.908 centimeters
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. use with ear buds

why would u want to use ear buds do u mean plugs? I find the radio is very tinny in sound

2. What is the AM frequency range for this radio?

The AM frequency response is 520-1710 kHz

3. The radio made in Taiwan or Dongguan China?

This is a darn good question.The company was founded in 1974 and is headquartered in Zhonghe District, New Taipei City, Taiwan, with a factory located in Dongguan, China.I don’t know where this analog pocket radio is produced, there is no information on the radio itself.Technically, the concept of the radio is good and I found it has the best sound for this size, period.The problems are elsewhere: for the first year I gave them a 5 stars grade.After cca 1 year the moving parts start faltering and I lowered the grade to 1 star only.It is finicky to tune, the volume adjustment is scratchy and uneven, drifting is pronounced, jumps in places you do not expect.In short, it is a pain to tune into your desired station.I bought 3 SR-35 and all have these problems.Conclusion: a very good radio concept failed by incorporating sub-grade moving parts such as variable condenser and volume potentiometer.Regrettable, but true.You may want to buy one, maybe they improved them since 2 1/2 years ago.By the way, some radios produced by KAITO (chinese company) are on par with those made in Japan: I bought a KAITO 1103 which is as good as SONY 7600-GR (both shortwave radios).Good luck.

4. Does this radio cut out electrical interference?

Noif you have a computer/fluorescent lamps it does not “cut out” this kind of thing on AM, but is nice on FM
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

ColdWarVet607 says: “I’ve used this now for about a week and absolutelty love it. I see this radio is now 19.97$, I got it a week ago at 18.74$ Feb 11, 2017…mmhh is Amazon jacking the price thinking I’ll buy another ? Anyway I look over all the radios in this price range, some reviews say great and some say bad and I beleive them both. Your reception depends upon your location (like on flat plains or in mountain/hill areas) like where live. So its hard to tell from the reviewers “will the radio work well for me in my area”. I wanted
I’ve used this now for about a week and absolutelty love it. I see this radio is now 19.97$, I got it a week ago at 18.74$ Feb 11, 2017…mmhh is Amazon jacking the price thinking I’ll buy another ?

Anyway I look over all the radios in this price range, some reviews say great and some say bad and I beleive them both. Your reception depends upon your location (like on flat plains or in mountain/hill areas) like where live. So its hard to tell from the reviewers “will the radio work well for me in my area”. I wanted a radio in this price range, give or take a few bucks. I just wanted a radio to listen to AM talk radio while working out in the back yard or talking a walk, listening to FM rack was also on my list. Not know how well any of these may work in my area, I did a search for Sangean SR-35 and of course got hits for amazon reviews, then found a youtube reviewer.

This reviewer is a radio enthusiast and bought just about all the pocket radios and other larger radios from amazon and did a side by side review of each from the same location at the same time. Now that still doesn’t answer the question how well will this work in my area, but it certainly answers the question, how good is the AM and FM reception between each other under the same conditions. He starts with a physical go over of features, then slowly runs it up and down the AM and FM bands, counting how many stations come in on each band for each radio, again at the same time (give or take and hour) and same exact location, so it is truly an oranges vs oranges comparison, he also reviews how well it does if you are walking with it or taking it for a bike ride (how well does it keep lock). Search youtube for “bigslick radio” bigslick is one word, if you make it 2 you will get something completely different.

To keep this short, I was looking at the Panasonic FR P50 @ 16.95, the Sangean SR35 @19.74 (lthough a week ago I got it 1.20 cheaper) and the Sony ICPF26 @ 19.75 ( a week ago this was 21.75 or so, I remember clearly just a nitch under 22$ which I thought was to high but still considered)

The Panasoinc per the youtube review showed pretty showdy physical case and a pretty short antenna about 13 in, the sony and Sangean had 17 inch, it also had no clip on the case to lock it in place when folded down and turned against the case so its pretty easy to break the antenna and I read alot of reviewers who said they broke the antenna. It also came in the lowest in picking up AM and FM stations and had poor ability to keep station in tune when moving, but it is in expensive and if you are just sitting there, its probably just fine. One other thing, it has an integrated on/off/volume switch, the others have separate switches/controls. Dont mean to trash Panasonic just stating facts.

The Sony ICPF26 watched this next, case it very nice as you would expect from Sony, ling 17 inch antenna, large speaker, but the Sangean is a bit larger, it had near double the AM and FM stations that the Panasonic did, the only negative is this thing is a boat, at like 1.3 – 1.5 thick its like a computer har drive, I did not like that and you should consider that the most. Also reception while moving was very good.

The Sangean SR-35, Case is beautiful and sturdy, I already dropped it 3 feet onto rock, continued to play like nothing happened, integrated on/off and volume control, some dont like this so they can have volume at same level when turned back on, as if your volume wheel wont move after you put it down or pick it up and fiddle with it, I dont see this as a problem, just one less thing to break. It has a nice large tuner wheel, the larger the better as it helps you tune the station in, a smaller wheel makes it much harder. His side by side comparison had this pull in a few less AM stations than the Sony but just a few like 3 or 4 out of 23-25, but it beat the Sony hands down in AM reception, I can remember the number but it was 5 or more. Plus it has a 17 inch antenna and it has a really nice swivel on it and a locking tab at the bottom of the case to keep it secured. This is quite a bit slimier than the sony, like you would expect from a packet radio, height and width about the same or smaller.

My own review of the Sangean SR-35 Gald I bought it, love it. Again its light and far far thinner than the sony, nice rounded edges on sides, its speaker is just a bit bigger and it is very very very high quality speaker, I tuned into an FM rock station and had volume maybe halfway up or less and could hear it 100 feet away with nice clear sound, I was really shocked, I thought the speaker would not be this good, but it is. I live in Morgan Hill, Ca. its a small town in a small valley surrounded by mountains and I can pick up tons of AM and FM stations from San Jose and Monterrey, I also get the station I really wanted 560 KSFO talk radio on AM 5000 watts, that comes from San Francisco 60 miles north of my as the bird flies and blocked by many mountains and my shielded valley, and it the Sangean picks it up great. If that is not enough I can get AM 580 from Fresno, Ca. which is 109 miles away and we are separated by the Hayward Fault mountain range and my house is about 150 yards away from the edge of this mountain range, I’m backed right up to it !!

The batteries are lasting for ever, I’ve had it running for 8 hours a day for the last 5 days and one day I had the volume all the way down but did not turn it off. Battery life will be excellent for any of the old time transistor radios that you get, they will last for weeks or longer while digital radios will die quickly. Plus you use 2 AA batteries for this. I did not want a radio with integrated battery as you can’t recharge (or at least easily recharge) when your out hiking or in a ark and the battery dies.

Even with the Sony price dropped more than 2$ and the Sangean raised by 1.25 this past week, I would still buy the Sangean, the Sony is a boat which is why maybe its price was reduced, see it in bigslicks youtube video, he points it out, much bigger impact when you actually see it. And side by side this had better AM reception. Amazon did have the Sony listed as Amazons choice and with all respect to Amazon I think that means they get a better deal through Sony, than it actually being about any quality or operational features, I know they will “buy this back from you” but it is literally pennies on the dollar, guess that is why it is their choice. I don’t know why they changed the prices but usually if you put something in your cart and then in the save for later category you will see in a few days or a week a message about price drop in your cart or write Amazon and ask why did they suddenly raise the Sangean by a 1.25

There are draw back to these old type transistor radios, after you tune it in, it can fade out a bit if you turn its direction, because you are changing the direction of the antenna, also as you may take a walk the signal may need adjustment, but I walk everyday for about 2.5 miles and it locks pretty good the whole way, but its not without a few adjustments here and there. The digital radio have phase lock loops that compensate for frequency drift, these dont. These radio are aslo subject to background static noise, but who cares.

I just wanted a simple radio to listen to while I garden or walk and its really a nice feeling to have a reminder of your childhood. Wow back then we were more than happy to have a small pocket radio all the rage back then for a few bucks. Today you cant get along without spending 500$ every few months to upgrade your phone and 100-250$ months for your families monthly bill, so you can type messages on a phone that was meant for talking on and so it can tell you how to do everything in your life while spying on everything you do in your life, because you have become so dependent on google, Microsoft and many others to tell you how find and do simple things ( In my days we did research, today the nation does “asking”) or how to get to locations you should now how to because you have never looked at a map and like most high school kids these days can’t even name 20% of the names of states in the US or even know where they are, dont even know where countries in the world are, actually there is very little they do know.

Well to much ranting, I think things were better when they were simpler, this radio is simple and will give you an eternal amount of joy and good tunes..


Show More…

We use standardized and scientific proven testing methods to scrutinize every product and provide you with objectively accurate results. If you’re looking for a digital pocket radio reviews , this post is the right place for you. If you’ve found different results in your own research, email us and we’ll compare notes.

Leave a Comment