Best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 Reviews In 2020

If you have been searching for the wifi router for multiple devices 2015 then you have come to the right place. For this post, I have put together a collection of the best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 currently available.

wifi router for multiple devices 2015

Are you still confused for how to select top wifi router for multiple devices 2015? Then don’t buy before you read this review and guide. Compare and choose the best from our selection.

Take your time in reading through this best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 review and trust that you would find the best that you would need.

Discover the excellence of wifi router for multiple devices 2015 when you refresh your collection of wifi router for multiple devices 2015 today. Here are the best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 you can buy.

Quick Answer: Best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 for You

If you’re in a hurry, then here’s the list of the best wifi router for multiple devices 2015:

    1. Best Rated: TP-Link AC1900 Smart WiFi Router (Archer …
    2. Top Pick: Mobile WiFi Hotspot Portable Router 4G …
    3. Overall Best: TP-Link AC1750 Smart WiFi Router (Archer …
    4. For The Money: TP-Link AC1200 Gigabit WiFi Router (Archer …
    5. Best Budget: ASUS ROG Rapture WiFi 6 Gaming …
    6. Goog Reviews: ASUS WiFi 6 Router (RT-AX3000) – …
    7. Overall Good: ASUS AC1900 WiFi Gaming Router (RT-AC68U) …
    8. Great Performance: TP-Link WiFi 6 Router AX1800 Smart …
    9. Cheap Price: TP-Link Wifi 6 AX1500 Smart WiFi …
    10. Cheap One: TP-Link AC1900 Smart WiFi Router (Archer …0

First, let’s take a look at the top-rated wifi router for multiple devices 2015, then we’ll read our full research review below to select the best product.

Image Product Name Rating Price
USER FRIENDLY

TP-Link AC1900 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A8) -High Speed MU-MIMO Wireless

TP-Link AC1900 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A8) -High Speed MU-MIMO Wireless

Features: JD Power Award – Highest in customer , Wave 2 Wireless Internet Router, 600 Mbps , MU-MIMO Gigabit Router, three simultaneous data streams

4.6
Check Price
EDITOR’S CHOICE

Mobile WiFi Hotspot Portable Router 4G High Speed Pocket MIFI Device

Mobile WiFi Hotspot Portable Router 4G High Speed Pocket MIFI Device

Features: 【US 300GB/90-day Data】This device comes with US , 【Perfect Travel Wi-Fi Hotspot】Our WiFi router is , 【Exclusive APP & Data Package】Just download the

4.6
Check Price
BUDGET PICK

TP-Link AC1750 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A7) -Dual Band Gigabit Wireless

TP-Link AC1750 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A7) -Dual Band Gigabit Wireless

Features: JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction , Router for wireless internet, works with Alexa, , Dual band router upgrades to 1750 Mbps

4.5
Check Price
MY CHOICE

TP-Link AC1200 Gigabit WiFi Router (Archer A6) - 5GHz Dual Band

TP-Link AC1200 Gigabit WiFi Router (Archer A6) – 5GHz Dual Band

Features: JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction , Dual band router upgrades to 1200 Mbps , Gigabit Router with 4 Gigabit LAN ports,

4.5
Check Price
TOP PICK

ASUS ROG Rapture WiFi 6 Gaming Router (GT-AX11000) - Tri-Band 10

ASUS ROG Rapture WiFi 6 Gaming Router (GT-AX11000) – Tri-Band 10

Features: Triple level game acceleration accelerate game traffic , Cutting edge hardware offers the best performance , Your own gaming mesh network Compatible with

4.5
Check Price
HONEST PRODUCT

ASUS WiFi 6 Router (RT-AX3000) - Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Internet

ASUS WiFi 6 Router (RT-AX3000) – Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Internet

Features: The Next Gen WiFi Standard – Future , Ultra-Fast Wi-Fi – RT-AX3000 supports 160MHz bandwidth , The Most Powerful Mesh System — AiMesh

4.5
Check Price
No #1 PRODUCT

ASUS AC1900 WiFi Gaming Router (RT-AC68U) - Dual Band Gigabit Wireless

ASUS AC1900 WiFi Gaming Router (RT-AC68U) – Dual Band Gigabit Wireless

Features: Dual band with the latest 802; 11 , 1 GigaHertz dual core CPU enables smart , Effortless router setup with the ASUSWRT web

4.4
Check Price
FOR THE MONEY

TP-Link WiFi 6 Router AX1800 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX21) –

TP-Link WiFi 6 Router AX1800 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX21) –

Features: JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction , Certified for Humans – Smart home made , Dual-Band WiFi 6 Internet Router: Wi-Fi 6(802.

4.4
Check Price
FOR YOU

TP-Link Wifi 6 AX1500 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX10) – 802.11ax

TP-Link Wifi 6 AX1500 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX10) – 802.11ax

Features: JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction , Wi-Fi 6 Router: Archer AX10 comes equipped , Next-gen Dual Band router – 300 Mbps

4.4
Check Price
Cheap Product

NETGEAR Nighthawk Smart Wi-Fi Router, R6700 - AC1750 Wireless Speed Up

NETGEAR Nighthawk Smart Wi-Fi Router, R6700 – AC1750 Wireless Speed Up

Features: Recommended for up to 25 devices: Reliably , Wired Ethernet ports: Plug in computers, game , Loaded with advanced technology: Designed with a

4.3
Check Price

Best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 – Buying Guide And Recommendation

There is a way to selecting the best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 budget and we trust this guide to place you on the right path in helping you find that which would be perfect for you.

1. TP-Link AC1900 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A8) -High Speed MU-MIMO Wireless

TP-Link AC1900 Smart WiFi Router – High Speed MU-MIMO Wireless Router, Dual Band Router for wireless internet, Gigabit, Supports Guest WiFi, Beamforming, Smart Connect(Archer A8).Archer A8 doesn’t have USB port which is different from the Archer A9 AC1900 router. And the Archer A8 doesn’t support VPN.

TP-Link AC1900 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A8) -High Speed MU-MIMO Wireless Router, Dual Band Router for Wireless Internet, Gigabit, Supports Guest WiFi

  • JD Power Award – Highest in customer satisfaction for wireless routers 2017 and 2019
  • Wave 2 Wireless Internet Router, 600 Mbps on the 2.4GHz band and 1300 Mbps on the 5GHz band
  • MU-MIMO Gigabit Router, three simultaneous data streams help your devices achieve optimal performance by making communication more efficient
  • Boosted WiFi Coverage, Beamforming technology delivers a highly efficient wireless connection, Long Range WiFi
  • Full Gigabit Ports: Create fast, reliable wired connections for your PCs, Smart TVs and gaming console with 4 x Gigabit LAN and 1 X Gigabit WAN. No USB Port
  • Parental Controls: Block inappropriate content and set daily limits for how much time your children spend online with Parental Controls
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. What is the difference between Archer 8th and Archer 9?

Key differences are that the Archer A9 has four antennas (3 external, 1 internal) as opposed to the 3 external on the A8, as well as the Archer A9 having a USB port where the A8 does not, and the Archer A9 supporting OpenVPN and PPTP VPN.

2. What’s the distance in coverage sq.ft???

WiFi coverage range will vary depending on your environment and which WiFi band you are connecting to. For optimal coverage, we always recommend installing the router in a central location within your home.

3. can you use this as a wireless bridge?

If you are referring to IPv6 Pass Through (bridge) capabilities for Internet/WAN configuration, yes. However, if you are referring specifically to WiFi bridging (such as WDS), no, the router is not designed to bridge via WiFi.

4. Does it work well with multiple alexa devices?

I personally have 2 echo dots (among numerous other devices) that work flawlessly with this router.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

JohnC69116 says: “I live in a 2-story home, and my old Netgear router was high-end at the time I bought it. However, my Spectrum internet (100 MB) was so slow that I decided to get a new router. My Windows 7 laptop, which was about 25 feet away from the router, was getting anywhere from .5 to 5 mb. It was very spotty. I got this new router, and had it hooked up and ready to go in 15 minutes, and my laptop was now getting 40 mb! My newer Windows 10 laptop now gets 115 mb. I’m extremely pleased with this router.
Between computers, smart tvs, phones, and even my smart light bulbs, I’ve got 14 devices hooked up to the internet, and all are working great!.

Show More…

3. Mobile WiFi Hotspot Portable Router 4G High Speed Pocket MIFI Device

Color:MM-301 111

Mobile WiFi Hotspot Portable Router 4G High Speed Pocket MIFI Device with US and Global Data No SIM-Card Needed, Create WiFi Anywhere, Roaming, Home, Travel

  • 【US 300GB/90-day Data】This device comes with US 100GB high-speed data every 30-day, total 300GB for 90 days. Every 100GB data is valid for 30 days. It WILL NOT WORK without the proper activation.
  • 【Perfect Travel Wi-Fi Hotspot】Our WiFi router is a wifi hotspot, not a signal booster nor a range extender. This device can use reliable 4G LTE networks in more than 150 countries. Cloud SIM technology allows you to enjoy 4G high-speed data without buying a local SIM when traveling overseas or on business.
  • 【Exclusive APP & Data Package】Just download the UROCOMM App from the”Apple Store” or “Google Play Store” for access. Download it to keep track of your data usage and instant recharges while you’re on the move! No contract or extra roaming charges.
  • 【Share Your Connection】Portable wifi router can share connections with maximum 10 mobile devices (e.g. mobile phones, Pads, computers, etc.) at the same time.
  • 【Features】The strength of signal and speed may vary depending on your location and congestion in the area. Work with 5000mAh battery which could also recharge your smart phone.
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Is data pricing only available in uromm app?

UROCOMM App is used to check your data usage, and there are different data packages we provide in various regions.

As long as you connect to the device’s WIFI, you can use data on any APP that can connect to the Internet.

2. Can I take to the desert and have WiFi not sure how it works

I’m not sure about this, you can tell me the location of the desert, and I will check the signal strength of the desert for you.

3. Which country l can use this wifi ?

It can be used in more than 150 countries, such as the following countries in North America. If you want to specifically inquire which country can be used, you can consult for the country, and hope to help you.
Puerto Rico
Canada
United States
United States Virgin Islands
Mexico
Barbados
Bahamas
Panama
Dominica
Costa Rica
Honduras
El Salvador
St. Kitts & Nevis
St. Lucia
St. Vincent & Grenadines
Guatemala

4. How much is the data plans

As the page shows, US 80GB & Global 5GB Data, their validity period is 30 days.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Christopher Whiting says: “This Mobile WiFi hotspot is amazing. The speed is the fastest WiFi speed I have ever used. Now I can use it anywhere and for the rest of my life. Thank you
This Mobile WiFi hotspot is amazing. The speed is the fastest WiFi speed I have ever used. Now I can use it anywhere and for the rest of my life. Thank you.

Show More…

5. TP-Link AC1750 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A7) -Dual Band Gigabit Wireless

AC1750 wifi router/wireless router. One of routers for wireless internet, wireless routers for home. Dual band router and gigabit router. Ideal as internet router also gaming router. Long range coverage with high speed. Compatible with all 802.11ac devices and below. 5ghz router/5g router Frequency Range: 2.4GHz and 5GHz; Interface Available: 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports, 1 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Port, 1 USB 2.0 Ports; Protocols Supported: Supports IPv4 and IPv6; System Requirement: Microsoft Windows 98SE NT 2000 XP Vista, or Windows 7 Windows 8/8.1/10, MAC OS NetWare UNIX or Linux; Wireless Standards: IEEE 802.11ac/n/a 5GHz, IEEE 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz.

TP-Link AC1750 Smart WiFi Router (Archer A7) -Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Internet Router for Home, Works with Alexa, VPN Server, Parental Control, QoS

  • JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction for wireless routers 2017 and 2019
  • Router for wireless internet, works with Alexa, compatible with all Wi-Fi devices, 802.11ac and older
  • Dual band router upgrades to 1750 Mbps high speed internet(450mbps for 2.4GHz, 1300Mbps for 5GHz), reducing buffering and ideal for 4K streaming
  • 3 external antennas for long range Wi-Fi
  • Gigabit Router with 4 Gigabit LAN ports, fast access to multiple connected wired devices, Ideal as a gaming router
  • Integrated USB port acts as a media Server, easily share your USB drive content
  • TP-Link tether app easily set up and remotely manage your home network
  • Industry leading 2 year warranty
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. What’s the difference between the C7 and newer A7 models?

The Archer C7 and A7 have similar performance specifications (AC1750) – however, the Archer A7 is an Amazon exclusive and supports Alexa integration.

Regards,
TP-Link Support

2. Why doesn’t the product description show the version number of the hardware? i don’t want to buy v3 or v4 when i think i’m getting ac1750-v5

The Archer A7 Wi-Fi Router’s hardware version is currently, and only V5.

Regards,
TP-Link Support

3. Can it be mounted on a wall?

Indeed, it can be mounted on a wall. But any screws you use must be unusually tiny, and they do not come with the purchase.

4. What is version number on recent purchase? on bottom sticker, near serial #, usually “ver 3.1” etc? thanks

The Archer A7 Wi-Fi Router’s hardware version is currently, and only V5.

Regards,
TP-Link Support

What Real Customers Say About This Product?

TJ Burke says: “You see my momma used to say “there is a great big world out there. That I needed to stop lifting weights in my room, stop watching tv in the basement, stop playing video games on my Intellivision.” I have always had that voice in the back of my head. I have moved out on my own and started a family, but I for the past 22 years I just keep coming back to what my momma said. Well I finally did something about it and used the interwebs at my local buffet style family dining establishment (borrowing my momma’s smartphone)
You see my momma used to say “there is a great big world out there. That I needed to stop lifting weights in my room, stop watching tv in the basement, stop playing video games on my Intellivision.” I have always had that voice in the back of my head. I have moved out on my own and started a family, but I for the past 22 years I just keep coming back to what my momma said.

Well I finally did something about it and used the interwebs at my local buffet style family dining establishment (borrowing my momma’s smartphone) and ordered the TP-Link AC1750 Smart WiFi Router, as a companion piece to a modem surfboard. I am not what you would call well with the electronics, but this piece of manufacturing was easy for me to set up and even brought my son and I closer together as we worked on it as a daddy/son project.

Once this was set up the whole family dynamic changed, the kids no longer fight with each other, my wife no longer hollars stuff to me at my face, we watch the entertainment on the tv with the airdropping of shows and movies.

My momma was right… there is a whole great big world out there, and now my family and I can see if wireless from our phones and tablets!.


Show More…

7. TP-Link AC1200 Gigabit WiFi Router (Archer A6) – 5GHz Dual Band

AC1200 wireless router, Gigabit, dual Band, beamforming, MU-MIMO.

TP-Link AC1200 Gigabit WiFi Router (Archer A6) – 5GHz Dual Band Mu-MIMO Wireless Internet Router, Supports Guest WiFi and AP mode, Long Range Coverage

  • JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction for wireless routers 2017 and 2019
  • Dual band router upgrades to 1200 Mbps high speed internet (300mbps for 2.4GHz + 900Mbps for 5GHz), reducing buffering and ideal for 4K stream
  • Gigabit Router with 4 Gigabit LAN ports, ideal for any internet plan and allow you to directly connect your wired devices
  • MU-MIMO technology (5GHz band) allows high speeds for multiple devices simultaneously
  • AP mode, can be switched to access point mode to share your internet wirelessly
  • Supports guest WiFi and parental control, an ideal wireless router for home
  • TP-Link tether app – easily set up and manage your home network at home or remotely
  • Show more
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. How long (size) are the external antennas? Thanks!

the total height of the unit from the base to the tip of the back antennas is 8 and one quarter inches, the front antennas are about an inch shorter

2. Is this wifi 6 compatible?

No, it is not. Any router with the name ACxxxx is compatible with 802.11ac WiFi standard but not Wifi 6 which is 802.11ax standard.

3. Does this need to be activated by my internet provider?

No, your modem is what needs to be activated by your ISP. This router connects to your modem via Ethernet to provide your home with reliable, dual-band AC1200 WiFi connectivity.

4. Will this connect to a wireless internet connection?

I own this Archer A6 and I can confirm that you do NOT need to connect this using an Ethernet cable if you already have Wi-Fi in your house. If you only have a modem, this will have to connect to the modem. However, if you have a modem and another router connected to that modem via Ethernet cable, and that other router is putting out a Wi-Fi signal, then you can only plug this into an electrical outlet in another room, and it will work BUT in order to get it to work without an Ethernet cable, you will have to go through a whole mess to set it up to work that way, and I had to contact customer service (via chat) to get mine to work that way. But once that is done, it can put out its own Wi-Fi signal (with is own name and password) or send internet to devices through an Ethernet cable.

What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Jennifer says: “Update: It is now April 21, 2020 and we’ve been using the router for 2 months. It is still working perfectly for us and we have zero complaints. I highly recommend it! We moved to the middle of nowhere about 7 years ago and it never occurred to us to check who provided TV/internet/phone at the new house before buying. We found out after buying the house that the only providers were satellite companies. We realized very quickly that first year that satellite sucks, the internet specifically. We got locked into a $75 a month plan with HughesNet for a year
Update: It is now April 21, 2020 and we’ve been using the router for 2 months. It is still working perfectly for us and we have zero complaints. I highly recommend it!

We moved to the middle of nowhere about 7 years ago and it never occurred to us to check who provided TV/internet/phone at the new house before buying. We found out after buying the house that the only providers were satellite companies. We realized very quickly that first year that satellite sucks, the internet specifically. We got locked into a $75 a month plan with HughesNet for a year and never once were able to actually use the internet that whole year. It was really frustrating. We simply did not have home internet for the past 6 years due to a lack of a decent provider. This past week Spectrum finally moved their service to our road. We immediately signed up. I knew I wasn’t paying them $5 a month to rent a router from them but I also wasn’t sure at all how to pick out a router myself. I’ve always been pretty tech savvy but when you lose access(and a need) to those things you stop keeping up with them, I was seriously behind on all the new updates that have been made over the last several years. I knew I didn’t want to spend more than $50 on a router and after doing some research I finally decided on this TP-Link AC1200 and basically just hoped for the best. Some of the reviews weren’t great so I was nervous. It arrived a day after our internet was installed so I set it up by myself. It took me all of 20 mins from unboxing to the whole house having Wi-Fi, it was VERY easy. I love that it has it’s own app, a very convenient feature. We live in a 2000sq. ft., one floor, manufactured home. These homes have pretty thin walls so the signal reaches from one end to the other very easily. We are also extremely heavy on our data usage in this family and while it’s only been a couple of days now it has had zero trouble keeping up with us. We’ve had zero buffering while streaming & using our phones, everything has been working very quickly. We have several smart TVs, cell phones, a laptop, a printer & a PS4 connected to it at the moment. The technician from Spectrum who installed our internet also said this was a good option for our 200mbps plan. I hope this helps someone make up their mind on whether this router will be a good choice for them. I will update the review if anything changes but as of now this seems to have been a pretty solid purchase and I’m happy with it..


Show More…

9. ASUS ROG Rapture WiFi 6 Gaming Router (GT-AX11000) – Tri-Band 10

Style Name:AX11000 | Tri-Band| 12 Stream Built for gaming with high speed & Gigabit ISP services, the GT AX11000 offers that fastest Wi Fi for current 802.11AC devices as well as next Gen 802.11ax devices. The GT AX11000 produces Gigabit speeds while providing extensive range for devices that demand Fast & consistent gaming, uploading, and streaming all at the same time. Power supply AC Input 110V~240V(50~60Hz)

ASUS ROG Rapture WiFi 6 Gaming Router (GT-AX11000) – Tri-Band 10 Gigabit Wireless Router, 1.8GHz Quad-Core CPU, WTFast, 2.5G Port, AiMesh Compatible, Included Lifetime Internet Security, AURA RGB

  • Triple level game acceleration accelerate game traffic With device, game packet and game server prioritization
  • Cutting edge hardware offers the best performance 1.8 GigaHertz Quad Core cpu and 2.5 G gaming port for ultimate performance
  • Your own gaming mesh network Compatible with ASUS AiMesh Wi Fi system for seamless whole home coverage.Memory:256 MB Flash,1 GB RAM
  • ASUS wrt enables support for open, advanced monitoring and control which includes device bandwidth utilization as well as device or usage prioritization
  • ASUS AiProtection security to neutralize internet threats before they hit your network
  • Nextgen ax Wi Fi is backward compatible with 802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi Fi devices and Supports current Wi Fi devices. Operating Frequency:2.4 GigaHertz, 5 GigaHertz 1, 5 GigaHertz 2
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. What wireless speeds are you getting with this router, versus what your wired speed is?

I am a fiber tech that installs giga speeds to customers homes.The customers that order the 1gig speeds are the biggest complainers of slow browsing speeds on the wireless side.I always ask the customers what their expectations are before I install it.Most customers don’t understand that 1gig speeds are not possible on the wireless side.300-450 is typical max.However if you hard wire your equipment straight to router you will see the giga speeds.If all your devices are wifi devices, then I would recommend getting the 300 speeds.That way you get over 300 on the wireless side.

2. is there another option for the antennas? As good as the specs are, this this thing look incredibly stupid

Lol. Nope. My wife hates it. I had to hide it.

3. How many wireless devices can the AX11000 hold before it slows down?

I have around 20 (slow) devices on the 2.4GHz band, 7 (fast) devices on one of the 5GHz bands, and a doorbell cam constantly streaming streaming on the other 5GHz band.I’m using it as an access point and do not have any devices wired into it besides the 2.5Gbps LAN (rest of LAN is 10Gbps) and this device is holding up well.The only thing I have seen slowed down are my WIFI 6 devices on a different floor but that’s more to do with the environment and antenna direction than the device being bogged down.I have only seen the RAM usage around 150-300MB so I’m sure this router can handle a lot more devices (it has 1GB)

4. This advertises 10gb ethernet yet only has 2.5gb?

Sadly, No 10gb ethernet but you have a few different entry level 10G switches like the ones from Qnap, Mikrotik, etc that will give you 2~4 SFP+ ports but you would need a good wifi 6 card or 10G ethernet card in the respective devices to fully realize those speed boosts.I’m looking at upgrading to wifi 6 and slapping a fast wifi 6 card in my plex server soon because despite the plex server being on a 10gig fiber connection at my house, the unifi AP Pro access point is a severe bottle neck for streaming 4k vs the wifi 6 capabilities.

What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Tech Focus says: “********* Updates ********* 3/31/2019 – New firmware 3.0.0.4.384_5977. Haven’t had chance to use for too long yet but issue with device list has been fixed, and it seems now I can just restart Node without restarting router then node in the specific order. Still no second 5GHz band usable to Smart Connect. – Added Advanced feature section as I got to use some of those features. 3/13/2019 – Update second 5G band direct connection section (only connects to router but not node). – Update Setup section, as for me reboot router and node order makes difference. – Added Router/Node switch Section
********* Updates *********
3/31/2019
– New firmware 3.0.0.4.384_5977. Haven’t had chance to use for too long yet but issue with device list has been fixed, and it seems now I can just restart Node without restarting router then node in the specific order. Still no second 5GHz band usable to Smart Connect.
– Added Advanced feature section as I got to use some of those features.
3/13/2019
– Update second 5G band direct connection section (only connects to router but not node).
– Update Setup section, as for me reboot router and node order makes difference.
– Added Router/Node switch Section
2/26/2019
– After 3 weeks of experience,
o Update AiMesh and stability sections, now up from 3 stars to 4 stars features. See detail in corresponding sections.
o Discovered that second 5GHz band can be used as separate SSID in AiMesh mode. (forced dual band section)
o ASUS support very disappointing.
o Simplified conclusion
********* ********* *********

Outside of the price, the specs on this router is currently unbeatable. Just to list a few amazing features that this router offers:
1. Wifi 6 support
2. AiMesh feature
3. VPN Fusion feature
4. Extensive customization options
5. Gamer’s optimization (I cannot comment on this feature as I do not use this feature).

********* ★★★★★ Features *********

+++++ Speed +++++
The router performance is great. In proximity to the router, I can get 500-600 Mbps Wifi internet download speed with 2016 Macbook Pro as well as Ipad Mini 4 on my 1Gbps service. Even at distance when connected to 5GHz band, I can get upper 300’s Mbps download at least 30 ft away from the router.
+++++ Range +++++
Our 3800 sqft two story house needed 3 Orbi Mesh system or 3 Eero Pro system to cover end to end with adequate speed. A single GT-AX11000 covers most of our home except one end of the basement, likely due to concrete wall.
To put into the objective number, Orbi was fast and I could get 200+ Mbps Wifi download speed throughout my home, but very unstable. So I moved onto Eero. Eero got very stable system without a hiccup, running for months, but there were areas where my speed went down to 80’s or even lower Mbps for download. A single GT-AX11000 can get me 200+ Mbps throughout the house where the signal is reachable as long as connected to 5GHz band.
With AiMesh, most part of house I get 300+ Mbps and the worst area where I have no AiMesh Node, I still get 200+ Mbps. Though AiMesh to other Mesh network system I had are not directly compared here because I only got 1Gbps service recently and previously had only 400 Mbps service and also I did not have Ethernet back-haul option before. Nonetheless, I’m happy with coverage.
+++++ Advanced Features +++++
Although there are many features that I do not use or don’t know how to use, lately as I set up more smart home device/home automation system, I’ve been impressed by what this router offers as otherwise, it could have got a bit more work.
1) Static IP: Ax11000 allows single toggle button to each of its connected devices to get Static IP, which is based on MAC address of the device and handled by router side, so even after reboot of the router, this feature remains. If needed, even laptop/tablet can use this so going out of network and back is hand-free.
2) VPN Server: Fairly readily set up to remotely log into home network.
3) Free DDNS: This is run by ASUS and let you point to your home network router by NAME.asuscomm.com. This allows remote accessing of home devices easy as we do not have to worry about ISP changing your IP address and reconfigure VPN access etc.

********* ★★★★☆ Features *********

+++++ WIFI 6 support +++++
This is certainly one of the main reasons to choose this router. The potential gain of WIFI 6 (802.11ax) standard is huge including speed boost, battery saving, and more simultaneous device connection. However, in order to see these benefits, supporting client device is needed. Recently, Samsung announced their latest phones to feature these, but I currently don’t own any client device. Also, Ax standard is still a draft version, so final version may have additional features that this router may not support (who knows). Basically, this is the future proof but not yet testable at the time.
+++++ Setup +++++
As a standalone router, set up was easy. As an AiMesh system, the initial set up was also easy enough. However, once I change some parameters, the router goes offline and I must reboot the router and node manually. These should be automatic. Also, in my case default setting of AiMesh did not work so well.
[3/13/2019] As part of other home network change/upgrade, I occasionally need to turn of Mesh Node. But when I do so, in order to get solid network back, I have to restart router first and wait until it is fully up, then turn Mesh Node on. Otherwise, system acts up.
+++++ AiMesh +++++
This is another major reason why I chose this router. AiMesh feature allows ASUS routers to act as true Mesh system. Advanced users can potentially implement Mesh like system using Access Point and/or Repeater mode of routers, but this requires lots of tuning like selecting proper Channel to avoid conflict, selection of Roaming parameters etc. Dedicated mesh system is simple but lacks customization option. AiMesh allows us to buy new and the latest, feature rich router and turn that into new router then use older routers to be satellite node to cover better range of house. This is a brilliant concept. For this reason, I have purchased two ROG GT-AX11000 routers.
Initially by default setting, I had constant drop out of AiMesh node (satellite). This was fixed by making node into Ethernet mode where default setting was AUTO mode. The latter mode supposed to automatically choose the best connection either Wireless or Ethernet backhaul. In my case, I found out it tried to switch to Wireless but signal was too weak (as I intentionally placed in the area with weak signal), and then disconnects and instead of reconnecting to Ethernet, node went offline. Ever since the change, not a single event of node drop.
+-+-+- Stability +-+-+-
I have HEOS speaker network system. Originally when I got HEOS speakers, I thought it was the HEOS that was faulty system as some speakers kept disappearing from the App device list. But later I found out, it was the Orbi mesh network issue. This is because after switching to Eero mesh network, I had never had this issue once again.
After fixing AiMesh node into Ethernet backhaul mode, this got better; however, I still experienced occasional sudden, device not connected to internet. After doing online research, I eventually changed setting to disable MU-MIMO, universal beamforming and airtime fairness options on both 5GHz and 2.4 GHz bands, and also enabled quality of service in media/internet surf mode. Ever since these changes, the Wifi went rock solid without any drop out. I had 7 solid days without a single reboot. As I do other home network upgrading, I have to turn them off every once and awhile. So mid-term stability is rock solid with appropriate setting, but figuring these on my own were not easy, and I don’t expect everyone get as lucky.

********* ★★★☆☆ Features *********

+-+-+- Many customization options +-+-+-
Stand-alone router system has advantage over Mesh system for more sophisticated customization options to the advanced users. AX11000 has nothing short in terms of these options. This is great for advanced users, but for trouble shooting, too many options make impossible to figure out exactly what’s causing the problem. I think ASUS should make default setup so network stability is the highest priority then let user play around to get more optimized, faster speed.
+-+-+- AiMesh Forced Dual Band +-+-+-
In tri-band systems, AiMesh uses second 5GHz band for dedicated Wireless back-haul. This makes sense as keeping solid connection between the router and node is crucial in mesh network system, and Mesh system like Orbi uses this technology as well. However, what does not make sense is when I have the connection set to Ethernet mode (not AUTO), I see no reason to keep blocking the band. Basically, the router and node are now appears as dual-band system, which we can buy for cheaper price. There is a rumor on Internet forum, this may be reverted in future firmware update.
[3/13/2019] It turned out the second 5GHz band is usable by disabling hidden SSID option. If you try to change the name to match Smart Connect SSID, you get an error though. Also, this band is only accessible on main router and not on Mesh Node.
+-+-+- Router/Node switch +-+-+-
In an ideal world, transition from router to node connection should be smooth and user shouldn’t even notice when the switch happened. In my case, this is a mixed experience. Sometimes device sticks to the original router or node despite the other is closer and even experienced a complete device disconnect when transition is happening. This sensitivity; however, is configurable by user in AiMesh. One need to change RSSI setting. I changed mine and it seemed to work better. However, I wish ASUS implement something so that RSSI value is automatically adjusted based on day to day statistics or at least suggest user to change RSSI values. This is probably one of the most important parameter to adjust to get optimal Mesh experience.

********* ★★☆☆☆ Features *********

—– VPN Fusion —–
Another great feature on paper by ASUS. This feature allows individual device to go through specific VPN service using a single router/network. Previously, I had my old router set up to connect to VPN and devices that I want to connect to the VPN had to switch to the router.
This feature can be a 3 stars because I was able to get this working with some VPN service such as Express VPN, but not others. However, those that do not work on this router works on ASUS Merlin firmware installed another router, so I believe it is not VPN server side issue. Basically, I see VPN connected on both server side and router menu; however, internet becomes inaccessible. To make it even worse, it affects entire network rather than just the device I associate with the VPN. Since this is one of the feature ASUS advertise, and I see as relatively unique to only some of ASUS routers, I hope to see this fixed.

—– Devices disappearing from Network List —–
[Update 3/31/2019] Firmware 3.0.0.4.384_5977 has resolved this issue.

—– AiMesh Node not configurable —–
It makes sense for some features to be non-selectable/configurable on AiMesh node as the purpose of mesh system is to make one change and reflect to all as a whole system. However, some feature like “light” on node should be individually configurable.

—– Aesthetics —–
It looks like a giant spider.

********* ★☆☆☆☆ Features *********

—– ASUS Customer Service —–
I have submitted my issues on the Ax11000 soon after I received the first router. ASUS occasionally sent me email saying they are still working on then referring to special tech, which sounded a good customer care. However, they were all templated e-mails and most likely just to buy a time. After 3 weeks of wait, the response was very disappointing without any content that’s useful.

********* ALTERNATIVE CONSIDERATIONS *********

The main reason to choose this router is its WIFI 6 support. Currently, there are relatively limited options for WIFI 6 compatible routers, but many more are on its way. So why did I choose this over the other options? Noteworthy alternatives are ASUS AX88U, Netgear RAX120 and TP Link Archer AX11000.

Vs. ASUS Ax88U
Ax88U is cheaper and also supports AiMesh. But it’s a dual band, lacks VPN fusion feature and theoretical speed rating is 6000. So technically, ROG Ax11000 is better in all the specs. However, when used in AiMesh with Ethernet back-haul, I am losing a band anyways with current firmware, so Ax88U is likely to give the same performance with cheaper price.

Vs. TP Link Archer AX11000
This router also has 11000 speed rating. Furthermore, TP Link announced AiMesh equivalent OneMesh feature. Up on reviewing online, I just saw ASUS router gets higher rating in general and longer support from the company. But prior to current purchase, I’ve never had ASUS or TP Link router, so I just went with what I read. Also another feature I wanted was VPN Fusion but TP Link had no mention about this type of technology.

Vs. Netgear RAX120
Out of all system, I think this was the biggest alternative option for me. RAX120 has multigig LAN ports up to 5Gbps whereas, ROG GT-Ax11000 only has one 2.5 Gbps LAN port. However, RAX120 is 6000 speed rated with dual band. Netgear does not have direct competitor technology of AiMesh but has Orbi like Extenders with Ethernet back-haul option, but I felt conceptually AiMesh sounded better with more flexibility. For instance, if times comes and I really need 5Gbps or even 10Gbps LAN port, I can purchase next generation ASUS router with such feature and use both AX11000 as AiMesh node.

Vs. Other AX Mesh systems
Orbi, TP Link, and Arris will have Wifi 6 Mesh systems this year. I like and need Mesh system at home, but if we can get the Mesh functionality with more option/flexibility why would I choose more restrictive system? (Other than simplicity).

********* Conclusion *********

On paper, ROG Ax11000 is undoubtedly the best router on the market including what’s coming in near future. As a single router, this deserved 5 stars for sure.

In AiMesh mode, I had originally struggled due to network stability issue. I was lucky enough to solve this on my own with internet search; however, ASUS tech support was no help. I would have returned the devices if I couldn’t have solved the issue. Since default setting did not work smoothly, I expect there will be others having the same or some different issues, and may consider this device may be unusable in AiMesh mode. So I’d give 4 stars for AiMesh setting because set up can be very tricky but once one figures out, it works better than other Mesh system I owned in the past.
In the future, I hope VPN Fusion feature to be fully functional, third band to be optionally opens up in AiMesh mode and node to be configurable at least to some extent..


Show More…

11. ASUS WiFi 6 Router (RT-AX3000) – Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Internet

Style Name:AX3000 | Dual Band | 2×2 Upgrade to the next generation of networking and WiFi with the RT-AX3000 WiFi 6 router, capable of delivering speeds up to 2. 5x faster than the previous WiFi generation. Featuring the latest technology including OFDMA, MU-MIMO, and Adaptive QoS ensuring wider coverage and maximum speeds to all of your devices.

ASUS WiFi 6 Router (RT-AX3000) – Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Internet Router, Gaming & Streaming, AiMesh Compatible, Free Lifetime Internet Security, Parental Control, MU-MIMO, OFDMA

  • The Next Gen WiFi Standard – Future proof your home network with the next-gen WiFi 6 technology, providing up to 2. 7x faster speed than the previous WiFi generation featuring OFDMA and MU-MIMO technology.
  • Ultra-Fast Wi-Fi – RT-AX3000 supports 160MHz bandwidth and 1024-QAM, boasting a total network speed of 3000 Mbps – 575Mbps on the 2. 4GHz band, and 2402GHz on the 5GHz band.
  • The Most Powerful Mesh System — AiMesh technology allows you to establish an even stronger mesh WiFi system with other ASUS AiMesh compatible routers, ensuring stable and seamless whole home coverage.
  • Commercial-grade network security for family – AiProtection Pro protects all the connected devices on your home network and advanced parental controls allow you to manage the family’s internet usage.
  • Mobile App Support – Control and customize every feature at your fingertips using the ASUS Router App for both iOS and Android devices.
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Is the range better than a Netgear Nighthawk R7800?

I can’t prove it but I believe it is yes.

2. Can qos be set at an application level so the kids online gaming can be throttled so adults can work at home without slow downs on video conferencing?

I have the asus Rog GT GX11000, with this one you can go into the QOS and put the order in which one you want to give top spot too. It works.

3. Are the antennas adjustable (vertical, horizontal, diagonal positioning)?

They are normal wifi antennas. They hindge and rotate.

4. Has anyone else experienced issues w/ only iPhones not having a reliable connection. Or just kicked off entirely and unable to log back in?

Yes. The iPhones in my household constantly have connection issues. My PC does too which also has an AX wifi adapter. Even after firmware upgrade on the router issues persist.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

GC says: “Over the years I’ve been a Linksys customer/user. Several times over, each router would get quirky and I would upgrade to one with more capabilities. My thoughts were that I was overwhelming the router with my networking needs and that I’d outgrown the router. My last one was a Tri-Band AC2200 that quickly suffered as well. I’ve given up on Linksys. This new Asus router is still very new for me. In the very short time I’ve had it the router has overcome major issues I’d been living with for years. I have a lot of Alexa Dots, smart lights and
Over the years I’ve been a Linksys customer/user. Several times over, each router would get quirky and I would upgrade to one with more capabilities. My thoughts were that I was overwhelming the router with my networking needs and that I’d outgrown the router. My last one was a Tri-Band AC2200 that quickly suffered as well. I’ve given up on Linksys. This new Asus router is still very new for me. In the very short time I’ve had it the router has overcome major issues I’d been living with for years.

I have a lot of Alexa Dots, smart lights and smart plugs along with a few IP cameras. Add on a Roku that streams TV/Movies constantly and a couple of tablets with heavy use. Oh. and I work from home and I have pretty high demands for data, Skype and WebEx usage for my job. I suppose I’m in the advanced to high demand for bandwidth. Even with what seems like monthly factory resets and multiple power resets per day with a digital timer there were always issues coming from my router.

This Asus router has been wonderful at resolving my problems that happened a LOT. Alexa will actually execute commands now and say Okay. Every time. Now I feel the smart home love instead of cursing at each Alexa. I use Quicken to download my bank transactions. This used to take a very long time or would fail regularly. Since my upgrade it’s been going quickly and working like a champ. Various web sites would take a very long time to come up. Usually sites for my health insurance or prescription refills. I thought it was because of my large data there. Nope, these are loading and running faster for me now too.

I thought why upgrade if I already have an advanced Tri-Band AC band router. I wish I had given in sooner. My speed tests on both routers are nearly identical. I’m maxing out my ISP plus about 10% with both a wired and wireless connections. Evidently the speed tests are just one kind of test. The real test is how well the router works in the environment. This router is ruling the environment. I can’t wait to use all the new upgrades next..


Show More…

13. ASUS AC1900 WiFi Gaming Router (RT-AC68U) – Dual Band Gigabit Wireless

Model:AC1900 Router | Dual Band | 3×3 Asus RT AC68U IEEE 802.11ac Ethernet Wireless Router RT AC68U Routers & Gateways Wireless. For any further queries please contact Asus’s Customer Support Number. If you are having issues connecting to 5Ghz network, make sure that your wireless device supports 5Ghz or features dual band capabilities

ASUS AC1900 WiFi Gaming Router (RT-AC68U) – Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Internet Router, Gaming & Streaming, AiMesh Compatible, Free Lifetime Internet Security, Adaptive QoS, Parental Control

  • Dual band with the latest 802; 11 AC 3×3 technology for combined speeds of up to 1900 Mbps
  • 1 GigaHertz dual core CPU enables smart multitasking by dedicating separate lanes for Wi Fi and USB data; Network standard: IEEE 802; 11a, IEEE 802; 11B, IEEE 802; 11G, IEEE 802; 11N, IEEE 802; 11AC, IPv4, IPv6
  • Effortless router setup with the ASUSWRT web based interface; Dual band connectivity for compatibility and performance
  • Monitor and manage your network with ease from your mobile device using the intuitive ASUS router app
  • A protection powered by Trend Micro provides multi stage protection from vulnerability detection to protecting sensitive data; Please refer the installation manual and the user manual before use which is highly essential; Dc output: 19 Volt with maximum 1; 75 a current; Guest network: 2; 4 GigaHertz x 3, 5 GigaHertz x 3
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. range

Bottom line: 2300 sq. ft. two story house. In downstairs kitchen prior Linksys model, best you could buy a little over a year ago, signal went in and out with the router upstairs on the other side of the house. This gives me 28.7 Mbps on wireless in the kitchen, same as a direct ethernet connection in the computer room. I am amazed!

2. difference between the 68u and the 68r?

If I go to Asus website, you can pull up the specs for each. See http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTAC68R/ and http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTAC68U/ respectively.Best to do this in separate windows to do a side-by-side comparison.Though almost everyone will tell you both units are exactly the same, except that one is sold online and the other retail, I would have to ask then, “Why are there differences in the specs?”You might have noticed the first difference is in the classification of each unit when you clicked on “Compare List” at the top of the webpage. The RT-AC68U is identified as a WiFi “Router”, whereas the RT-AC68R is identified as a WiFi “Client”. I’m no networking guru but the specific name classifications would suggest that they are different.The argument or statement that one is retail and the other online could simply be an easy way out for Asus techs to explain the difference.As one person noted in the Q&A section, they purchased a “U” version from Best buy – the vary store that everyone is saying is the exclusive seller of the “R” version.LoL.As you scroll down the comparison lists of each, it would appear that both units are up and up, the same. But, compare and scrutinize the specs carefully.1)Under “Data Rate” the AC68R says “802.11n: up to 600Mbps”, whereas the AC68U indicates “802.11n: up to 450Mbps” as well as “802.11n TurboQAM: up to 600Mbps”.The AC68R does not mention TurboQAM in the specs.2)Under “VPN Support” the AC68U lists Open VPN Server, PPTP Client, L2TP Client, and Open VPN Client, whereas the AC-68R does not list any of these. 3)A couple of days ago, as I compare the lists, the AC68U showed “86×64” after each of the Windows OS systems under the “OS Support” section but the AC68R did not. That seems to have been updated and removed from the AC68U spec list.4)Also, as mentioned by others elsewhere on amazon and other websites, the AC68U lists DLNA under Management Support.Or it did until a couple of days ago.That seems to have also been removed.So, if both units are reported to be the same, then why are there noted differences in specs as noted in Asus own website?Would like to have an Asus engineer chime in on this. I would suspect that the “U” and “R” actually denotes a different version of the same model, where in the “U” is a more updated version.Update:I posted the same write up above to the Asus Tech Support.This is the answer I received from a tech, via email:”Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.My name is Joe and it is my pleasure to help you with your problem.Thank you for your question. They are same. But the firmware of them are different and could not be installed by each other. And any other things like hardware are all same. Welcome to refer Troubleshooting & FAQ for ASUS products in ASUS website: http://support.asus.com/servicehome.aspx?SLanguage=en”If anyone can derive justification to say one is an “online” version and the other is “retail (exclusive to Best Buy) based on the answer provided by Joe, I applaud you.I still think the “U” and the “R” denotes different release dates (hence different firmware as claimed by Joe) of the same or similar models, which would also explain differences in published specs.So which unit is the more recent release with the most recent firmware?

3. this router worth the price or buy the Ac66u or the N900 for save money

I have had the N900 for almost 2 and a half years and I am finding the limitation is really the number of devices and the amount of data it can handle. I am streaming HD content to 2 Xbox360’s and 3 streams from an HD Home Run Prime Cable card tuner. I had to put both Xbox360’s on the wired Ethernet because the wireless could not handle it.That is why I am looking at the AC68u.

4. 2,300 sf home. Will this router work w/no extenders? Also, I have 4 TV’s w/Netflix streams. 1 Xbox for online play & 5 Computers. Can it support them?

Placement of the router is key, the center of the house would be best. That being said, mine is upstairs close to center of 2700 sf home, and get pretty good signal. 5G is a little lacking at the furthest points, but works.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Vespula says: “Wow. Goodbye Netgear. Hello ASUS RT-AC68U AC1900 router! In fairness to Netgear, the netgear r6300 I have had for years has been a stable product (with the right settings, however) and it was paired with a Arris SB6141 Cable modem, but lightning took both of them away. I went for the combo C7000 Netgear latest and greatest I wanted to like it but it lagged and had 20 second drops of connectivity. Unstable. Unacceptable new product with bugs was my experience and a lot of others had the same experience too. Reviews for Asus were surprisingly good and never had owned
an ASUS router before but the reviews were so over the top I had to find out. So I ordered my new Arris SB6141 Cable modem (because it was rock solid for me before) and the RT-AC68U.

First impressions… wow nice build quality. Very impressive. Real removable antenna just like a real AP pro class. It just felt good and looked great. All the machining and connections looked above grade from any other manufacturers in the consumer space I have seen. A real “PRO-SUMER” product.

My background is I.T. and I am in this space so to impress me was not an easy feat. Our use case for this router is:
NO cable… all streaming house… using Two Roku, 6 laptops, one of them dedicated for streaming Xfinity TV-GO stations, a Wii game console, Grace Digital Mondo Internet Radio player, HP laserjet on wifi, oven on wifi, garage doors on wifi, heated tile floor thermostat on wifi (for the weather), and 6 smart phones (2 iphones, 4 android). Plus a “lab” in my office using wifi devices (Wifi scanners, etc) for job related activities. We often could be streaming roku channels (ESPN, FoxGo, etc) at the same time as Fox news on another tv, with Roku netflix upstairs as well, plus any of the household (or all) could be streaming online youtube, amazon video prime or facetime with friends.

So you can see its a heavy usage situation. My router right now has 21 devices connected at one time from the list mentioned above. Back to the review…
On powering up and connecting to this Asus the setup was so easy it was amazing with the wizard. I was online in seconds.
The interface was amazing… Wow. The feature set was so in depth and so well done that this was like router Eden. Graphics, Data, Stats galore. Instant salivation for anyone with an appreciation and knowledge on 802.11. They should have code named this router the ASUS PAVLOV.

All that is great but if it doesnt work, or drops its just a piece of pretty junk. Guess what. Its got it where it counts too.

Signal strength around the house is stronger than ever. Speeds on all clients are crazy fast. Stability on 2.4 *AND* 5ghz is what it should be. I mean wow. where has this router been all my life?? The router has a cpu graph for the dual core cpus in the interface and its barely breathing handling the traffic- even with all the bells and whistles turned on collecting traffic, stats and web history from clients! Oh and did I mention this is all with QoS turned off!! Why limit bandwidth if you dont need to? QoS seems to be used best for small pipes or compensating for poor routers that cant handle a load, in my expeience. My network is rock solid. I will update this if something changes, of course, but from my experience you just know when you know, you know? And for this router… I know!

In closing, watching the real-time bandwidth utilization graphic in the interface I can see the ebb a flow of downstream data (as well as upstream). Mine was pulsating in bursts from 6 to 28Mbps as the demands of multiple HD streaming clients was requested. Dual core CPU never clicked over single digits combined. I have Xfinity Blast! and speed tests were 75-80 down and 10-12 Up over 5g wifi — just for reference. plenty of headroom.,Netflix Roku App’s Network test reported that my Downstream capability to their servers was 17.35 Mbps. Nice.

So to sum up. I think this is the best router ever on many levels, Build quality, stability, feature set, and pairs very nicely with a Arris SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem, which to me is a proven solid product that I have used easily for over a decade (back when it was made under Motorola). I even used a 6121 4 channel version prior to this 6141 8 channel down / 4 up coming out about 10 years ago (I think).
6141=great modem.

Asus RT68=Awesome Stable Router

EDIT UPDATE on 7/30/2018:
This has been a solid router for me since I wrote this review. I am up to 27-33 clients around the house generally between adding technology finding its way in the house (now 5 rokus!) and supporting transient devices for my job, or friends/family. Still remains to be great. I do update the firmware when it comes up and have not had problems with any version.

Also, I mentioned I used QoS off… I have since changed gears on that. I now have QoS on and set to MEDIA/VIDEO as the priority due to all the video we stream here… It has been rock solid and definitely performs better with QoS set ON. Video plays at Highest resolutions and glitch free all around the house.

Newest feature of this router in the firmware is AIMESH. This feature intrigued me because the far reaches of our bonus room has poor signal…. the roku in there doesnt seem to like the weak signal… I bought another one of these routers and added it as a MESH NODE. This allows seamless roaming around the house and load balancing of clients between the two routers. The only problem I had was the firmware’s didnt match so it wouldnt mesh. I downloaded the latest and updated both to the latest firmware and then had no problems meshing the second router as a node. Very easy. I placed it at the end of the house downstairs, and now have good signal in the bonus room. I continue to love this router!! AiMESH rocks!

Update 12/27/18:
Still kicking strong. AIMESGH is great!! There have been several firmware updates and the router keeps getting better. I have not had any real issues with any of the firmware updates so I am grateful for that and kudos to ASUS for apparently knowing what they are doing and testing things sufficiently! I will say I have had to reboot this router less than 5 times since I have owned it due to some kind of internet issue. I dont know if it was caused by comcast, or just a glitch… but I did reboot it and the issue resolved on each of those occasions. Thats pretty darn stable. I might give it “five nines” of uptime considering I just never touch it except for those few times.
Since my original review, Comcast/Xfinity has upped the bandwidth so I am getting about 175 meg down now…same 10/12 meg upload… Everything runs great… and stable.
I have half a dozen clients on one side of the house on the mesh node 1 and the other half on the other “host” router… its nice. I have also been adding more devices since my last update … RING doorbell, a SONOS Connect, two Google Home Minis, and four Amazon Echo DOT are added to the network (these are cool devices and love how you can use as intercoms by the way) …. also, I have four Ring floodlight cameras sitting in boxes I got for Christmas which I will be installing when the weather is nice which should be pushing me towards about 50 clients in the house (not all on at a time, mind you) but could be I suppose! Great router..


Show More…

15. TP-Link WiFi 6 Router AX1800 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX21) –

Model:AX1800 TP-Link WiFi 6 Router AX1800 Smart WiFi Router – 802.11ax Router, Gigabit Router, Dual Band, OFDMA, Parental Controls, Long Range Coverage, Works with Alexa(Archer AX21). 1. The latest generation of Wi-Fi technology brings faster speeds, less lag, and higher capacity, enabling more simultaneous connections on your home network. 2. Beamforming technology, high-power Front-End Module, and four high-gain antennas combine to adapt Wi-Fi coverage to perfectly fit your home and concentrate signal strength towards your devices.

3.Easily handle dozens of devices streaming and gaming at the same time—OFDMA future-proofs your home networks by providing greater capacity to connect more devices. 4.A powerful 1.5 GHz quad-core CPU generates minimal latency within your network even under heavy load of transmission. Every click for website links and online playback on your laptop and phone just responds quicker. 5.The latest Wi-Fi security protocol, WPA3, brings new capabilities to improve cybersecurity in personal networks.

More secure encryption in Wi-Fi password safety and enhanced protection against brute-force attacks combine to safeguard your home Wi-Fi.§

TP-Link WiFi 6 Router AX1800 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX21) – Dual Band Gigabit Router, Works with Alexa – A Certified for Humans Device

  • JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction for wireless routers 2017 and 2019
  • Certified for Humans – Smart home made easy for non-experts. Setup with Alexa is simple
  • Dual-Band WiFi 6 Internet Router: Wi-Fi 6(802. 11ax) technology achieves faster speeds, greater capacity and reduced network congestion compared to the previous generation
  • Next-Gen 1.8 Gbps Speeds: Enjoy smoother and more stable streaming, gaming, downloading and more with WiFi speeds up to 1. 8 Gbps (1200 Mbps on 5 GHz band and 574 Mbps on 2. 4 GHz band)
  • Connect more devices: Wi-Fi 6 technology communicates more data to more devices simultaneously using revolutionary OFDMA technology
  • Extensive Coverage: Achieve the strong, reliable WiFi coverage with Archer AX1800 as it focuses signal strength to your devices far away using Beamforming technology, 4 high-gain antennas and an advanced front-end module (FEM) chipset
  • Powerful Quad-Core Processing For Minimal Latency: The powerful 1. 5 GHz quad-core CPU ensures communications between your wifi ax router and connected devices are smooth
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Compared to asus rog rapture gt-ax11000 and netgear nighthawk x10 ad7200, who is better?

Well the Netgear is “old” tech now.Wireless AD is fast but only operates at super short distances.15feet or less.Line of sight.The Asus has it smoked.It has more horsepower than the ax6000 but really only because of the triband. Having 3 bands let’s them put that big 11000 number in the name instead of 6000. 4800 per 5ghz band, 1200 for the 2.4ghz. The numbers are theoretical.It really depends what your looking for and willing to spend.The Asus is triband. Meaning 2.4ghz and 2 5ghz networks. Tplink is dual.2.4ghz and 1 5ghz network.They are both going to be comparable in speeds.The tplink has 8 gig Ethernet ports.Asus only has 4.Range should be comparable.The Asus is more customizable and geared towards gamers.Tplink is more jack of all trades.With the 15% back with the prime card, the tp link is about $180 cheaper.I chose the tplink cause of price and didn’t need the triband.Plus was familiar with the brand having previously owned the ac1750.

2. Is the ax3000 comes with a usb3 port or usb2? tp-link official site said it’s usb2, not sure if amazon selling a later model with usb3 or it’s a typo

We have two AX3000 models. The Archer AX50 has USB 3.0 the Archer AX3000 has USB 2.0.

3. Is it triband router?

No the AX6000 is a dual band WiFi 6 router

4. How many devices can this router handle?

I’m running about 50 wireless connection. and 20 ports through 2 switches. with me running Youtube and my wife is playing WEB gamesand I’m watching Netflix. Also running Netflix a lot since Covid19, I don’t experience any streaming problems. When I mentioned switches I’m running a 24 connection and a 9 connection routers. So multiple connections I have no problemS, On the router you have 8 Ports.

What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Diorella Foster says: “Bought to replace an aging R7000 Netgear Router ( developed a habit of “DNS server is not responding” error. ) TL;DR Pros: -price -ports -no reboots required after setting changes Cons -no default admin / admin account like old routers -cant turn off QOS ( hasnt effected my network though) -lesser known brand So this purchase was the culmination on about 40 hours of research. I was a die hard Netgear owner for about 15 years. i decided to try something new for a few reasons. 1. new routers are stupidly expensive. most Wifi 6 routers with any reasonable hardware are
Bought to replace an aging R7000 Netgear Router ( developed a habit of “DNS server is not responding” error. )

TL;DR
Pros:
-price
-ports
-no reboots required after setting changes

Cons
-no default admin / admin account like old routers
-cant turn off QOS ( hasnt effected my network though)
-lesser known brand

So this purchase was the culmination on about 40 hours of research. I was a die hard Netgear owner for about 15 years. i decided to try something new for a few reasons.

1. new routers are stupidly expensive. most Wifi 6 routers with any reasonable hardware are going to run $270+
2. firmware issues are reported for both of the popular Netgear and Asus routers. lots of negative reviews.
3. “gamer” price increase just because it is branded as “gamer”
4. sometimes trying new things is good.

I settled on this TP-Link for a few reasons
1. Wifi6 (AX####) if im going to get somthing new, i might as well get the newest technology (even know none of my devices can use it yet)
2. it had a usb 3.0 ( most routers do at this point but it was on my list anyways due to network storage)
3. less that $200
4. gig+ Ethernet ports
5. its a name i know of ( top 5 networking companies Netgear, Cisco, Asus, TP-Link, D-Link)

Anyways on to the review.

Design: pretty slick. thinner / smaller than i expected. antennas swivel with a little effort, but stay put when your finished moving them. attaches to the wall with two screws ( not included ) the holes on the back of the device are roughly 8 1/2 inches apart. has an option to turn the LED’s off at certain times

Setup: initial log in was done with a cable and my laptop, the rest of the setup was completed once i replaced it on the wall where my old router was ( hard wires / cable modem location ) pretty standard set up. my router was defaulted to 192.168.0.1. once i got to the page i was prompted to set up a password. i later changed my network to use 192.168.1.1 ( like my last router) there was some quick set up first run type questions it asked. i later went in a specified permanent ports for my wired desktops which was a breeze. i also updated the firmware which was painless. one major pro with this was you can make changes to the router configuration, and you never need to reboot the router ( firmware being the only rebooting action of all the settings i changed. )

Speed: wired connections were reading 500mbps to the xfinity.speedtest.net which is what im paying for speed wise. my google pixel 2 wireless speed test to the google site was reading 320 mbps. i cant complain here, so im pretty happy with that.

networked storage: i plugged in our families 256GB photo archive thumbdrive to the router, was getting consistent 30mbps transfer from desktop to thumbdrive. pretty happy with that, as its about as fast as i get when its plugged into my desktop.

All and all im pretty happy with it, will keep this review updated as time goes on..


Show More…

17. TP-Link Wifi 6 AX1500 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX10) – 802.11ax

Style:AX1500, WiFi 6 Router Wi-fi 6 router AX1500 Wi-Fi 6 delivers a huge boost in speed and total capacity. Get on the latest WiFi technology to wipe out all the annoying slowdown, and enjoy the future network that loads faster and connects more. The latest 1024-QAM and higher symbol rate work to boost speeds for newer devices to the Gigabit level. Connect to a 1 Gbps WiFi network with your phone or laptop, and enjoy speeds comparable to plugging in an Ethernet cable.

Add more WiFi devices without dragging down performance. OFDMA allows multiple devices to use one band at the same time, enabling your WiFi to bear more devices compared to the same speed level Wi-Fi 5 router. Wi-Fi 6 increases the efficiency of transmits data, cutting the lag. Enjoy flawless video and audio chats, better gaming speeds, and instantaneous video loading on different devices—all at the same time. Beamforming technology and 4 high-gain antennas combine to generate strong, reliable Wi-Fi signal throughout your home, delivering smooth and stable connections for all your devices.

The Gigabit Ethernet ports allow you to take full advantage of your broadband speed up to 1 Gbps. Plug your PCs, smart TVs, and game consoles into one of the four Gigabit Ethernet LAN ports for fast, reliable wired connections.

TP-Link Wifi 6 AX1500 Smart WiFi Router (Archer AX10) – 802.11ax Router, 4 Gigabit LAN Ports, Dual Band AX Router,Beamforming,OFDMA, MU-MIMO, Parental Controls, Works with Alexa

  • JD Power Award —Highest in customer satisfaction for wireless routers 2017 and 2019
  • Wi-Fi 6 Router: Archer AX10 comes equipped with latest wireless technology WiFi6 featuring OFDMA 1024-QAM, drastically increasing the speed and efficiency of the entire network.
  • Next-gen Dual Band router – 300 Mbps on 2. 4 GHz (802. 11n) + 1201 Mbps on 5 GHz (802. 11ax)
  • Connect more devices than ever before Wi-Fi 6 technology simultaneously communicates more data to more devices using OFDMA and MU-MIMO while reducing lag dramatically
  • Triple-core processing the 1. 5 GHz tri-core processor ensures communications between your router and all connected devices are smooth and Buffer-Free
  • More coverage with less interference achieve the strongest most reliable Wi-Fi coverage with Archer AX10 As it focuses signal strength to your devices using Beamforming technology.
  • Backward compatible Archer AX10 supports all previous 802. 11 standards and all Wi-Fi devices
  • Easy setup set up your internet router in minutes with the powerful TP-Link tether app. Compatible with 11a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi standards. System Requirements-Microsoft Windows 98SE/NT/2000/XP/Vista/7/8/8.1/10, MAC OS, NetWare, UNIX or Linux, Internet Explorer 11, Firefox 12.0, Chrome 20.0, Safari 4.0, or other, Java-enabled browser,Cable or DSL Modem. Wireless Functions-Enable/Disable Wireless Radio, WMM
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Does this have a standalone access point mode?

Yes, the Archer AX10 offers both Router Mode and Access Point Mode configuration options that can be easily enabled via the web management page or the Tether app.

2. The QnA seems to have mixed answers regarding the voltage input. Does the power adapter use 220v?

Yes, the router’s adapter supports 100 – 240V, 50/60Hz.

Regards,
TP-Link Support

3. This router only have ofdma or also have mu-mimo technology?

No it does not have mu-mimo. I just spent 58 minutes with tp-link text support to discover that the novel here is totally mislabeled. It does have ofdma, but does not have mu-mimo anyone who claims it does is parroting something they heard. Ni saw videos reviews claiming it does, but it certainly did not and Imtiaz below is incorrect in his assertion. I was very disappointed because I was counting on that feature being there.

4. Can the tp link ax1800 router be set up and configured without using a phone?

Yes, you can easily configure the router with your computer or tablet via the web management interface.

Regards,
TP-Link Support

What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Sean Gerke says: “This is the fifth wireless router I have hooked up.. 2nd wifi6 enabled. I finally found our winner. Yes, went through all the brand names and one from asia. This is BY FAR the best! We have it in the back of our pantry, there is a ton of metal work all around and still get 100% signal strength. We have 7700sqft yard and i get it well into the neighbors yards. 👍🏻 Setup took less than 5 mins and that included firmware update. User interface and update change speed is fastest I have experienced. TP-Link is a winner (we tried
a much more expensive TP-Link AC router and it sucked). Will update this after some usage. Original 5-star review..

Show More…

19. NETGEAR Nighthawk Smart Wi-Fi Router, R6700 – AC1750 Wireless Speed Up

Model:AC1750 WiFi The NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1750 Smart Wi-Fi Router delivers extreme Wi-Fi speed for gaming up to 1750Mbps. The Dual Core 1GHz processor boosts wireless & wired performance. High-powered amplifiers and external antennas increase range for whole-home mobility, while Beamforming+ boosts speed for mobile devices, up to 100% faster.

NETGEAR Nighthawk Smart Wi-Fi Router, R6700 – AC1750 Wireless Speed Up to 1750 Mbps | Up to 1500 Sq Ft Coverage & 25 Devices | 4 x 1G Ethernet and 1 x 3.0 USB Ports | Armor Security

  • Recommended for up to 25 devices: Reliably stream videos, play games, surf the internet, and connect smart home devices
  • Wired Ethernet ports: Plug in computers, game consoles, streaming players, and other nearby wired devices with 4 x 1 gigabit Ethernet ports
  • Loaded with advanced technology: Designed with a 1GHz dual core processor, 3 amplified antennas, Beamforming plus, Dynamic QoS, Smart Connect, and more
  • USB connections: Share a storage drive or printer with any connected device or create a personal cloud storage to access from anywhere, using the 1 x 3.0 USB port
  • Safe & secure: Supports WPA2 wireless security protocols. Includes Guest Wi-Fi access, DOS, Firewall, VPN, and more.
  • Netgear Armor protects your network and connected devices from Internet threats; Get peace of mind knowing you have the best in class anti virus, anti malware, and data protection for all your smart devices, smartphones, and computers with a 30 day free trial
  • Safe & secure: Supports WPA2 wireless security protocols. Includes Guest Wi-Fi access, DOS, Firewall, VPN, and more. System requirements: Microsoft Windows 7, 8, 10, Vista, XP, 2000, Mac OS, UNIX, or Linux. Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0, Firefox 2.0, Safari 1.4, or Google Chrome 11.0 browsers or higher
Most Frequently Asked Question:

1. Do i need a internet provider to get internet

Slow down peers!Look at the date of this question: 6/9/14!And, this may have been a senior!@RossGellerDressForLess and @iBuyStuffOnAmazon – y’all are not reflecting well on your family or your value systems.The mindset you two have is crystal clear – and I for one would never allow myself to associate with either.

Now, one could have a unlimited data plan for voice, use the hotspot on the phone for the “internet” and connect to this device
OR
Could purchase an stand alone modem, and T Mobile offers one.(Phone company)

i appreciate this question, as THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A STUPID QUESTION!Only humans who bx in a bullying manner.Shame they are adults.

From Texas

2. Is this a spaceship?

Be serious, a spaceship?

It’s a ROUTER.(from the year 3499, transported here by Dr. Brown thanks to his trusty flux capacitor)

3. When all 3 bands are active, do you see 3 different wifi connections? Meaning 1 2.4 and 2 5 Ghz? Or are the 2 5 Ghz both under 1 name?

There are 3 Radios in this device. The Number of SSID is up to you; I.E. if you enable guest access it will create more SSID for said connections(Guest uses the same radios). If you make only three SSID’s (1x 2.4 Ghz)(2x 5.0 GhZ) the same it will work, but the Idea of having two 5.0 Ghz band is to give separation, for example you could name one 2.4 & 5.0 Ghz SSID the same and give to family, and keep one 5.0 Ghz for yourself (if all your devices are 5.0 Ghz) named separate or even hidden. It also allows you to support legacy security if needed.Keep in mind the Wireless A,B,G,N,A-C,A-D are not all on both bands/frequencies.

4. What is the average airspeed velocity of an unladen Nighthawk X6?

A pair of them can grip the wi-fi signal by the husk and fly it to the world wide web.
What Real Customers Say About This Product?

Matt Sayar says: “When I moved in with my wife, she brought with her a router that was better than mine, so we kept hers. After a while, more and more of our house became smarter. Smart devices were chatting across our house more and more every month. So I decided to upgrade to a
.

Show More…

I hope this list of the best wifi router for multiple devices 2015 was helpful. If you think I left out one that is important or have a suggestion for a future article, let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Comment